Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    18

    Default Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

    Newbie
    I can see my bcm4311 in network manager try everything I have read here on the forms still nothing.
    ndiswrapper installed reboot nothing try icups nothing disabled ipv6 reboot nothing.
    I can see it in network manager but still cant connect to it.
    Any help would be great.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

    zero1976 wrote:
    > Newbie
    > I can see my bcm4311 in network manager try everything I have read here
    > on the forms still nothing.
    > ndiswrapper installed reboot nothing try icups nothing disabled ipv6
    > reboot nothing.
    > I can see it in network manager but still cant connect to it.
    > Any help would be great.
    > Thanks


    First - get rid of ndiswrapper. For a BCM4311, it is not needed and
    will screw up everything!

    It is likely you need to install the firmware. If you have a network
    connection in Linux, then open a terminal and enter the following
    commands:

    Code:
    sudo   /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    sudo   /sbin/modprobe  -rv   b43
    sudo   /sbin/modprobe  -v    b43
    At this point, you should be able to use NetworkManager to create a
    new connection.

    If you do not have an Internet connection in Linux, please go to the
    wireless subforum, look at the 3rd stickie, and find the place that
    tells you exactly what to do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

    Ok will try it
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

    Ok will do
    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Hp-Dv9000 No wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    zero1976 wrote:
    > Newbie
    > I can see my bcm4311 in network manager try everything I have read here
    > on the forms still nothing.
    > ndiswrapper installed reboot nothing try icups nothing disabled ipv6
    > reboot nothing.
    > I can see it in network manager but still cant connect to it.
    > Any help would be great.
    > Thanks


    First - get rid of ndiswrapper. For a BCM4311, it is not needed and
    will screw up everything!

    It is likely you need to install the firmware. If you have a network
    connection in Linux, then open a terminal and enter the following
    commands:

    Code:
    sudo   /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    sudo   /sbin/modprobe  -rv   b43
    sudo   /sbin/modprobe  -v    b43
    At this point, you should be able to use NetworkManager to create a
    new connection.

    If you do not have an Internet connection in Linux, please go to the
    wireless subforum, look at the 3rd stickie, and find the place that
    tells you exactly what to do.
    Hi thanks works great now.
    Thanks you very much for the help
    Thanks again all

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •