Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Grub problem upon installation

Default Grub problem upon installation

Hi!

I'm somewhat new to Linux and I have a problem with my installation into Suse 11.1.

I have installed from the Live-CD but when it's time to respawn to finish the installation the system halts on the Grub prompt when it have rebooted.

I've installed Suse on one SATA drive that contained windows XP, that I erased in favor for Suse. No more commercialized virus for me.

Anyone that has a solution to my problem?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Grub problem upon installation

Quote Originally Posted by artagard View Post
    Hi!

I'm somewhat new to Linux and I have a problem with my installation into Suse 11.1.

I have installed from the Live-CD but when it's time to respawn to finish the installation the system halts on the Grub prompt when it have rebooted.

I've installed Suse on one SATA drive that contained windows XP, that I erased in favor for Suse. No more commercialized virus for me.

Anyone that has a solution to my problem?
    You might have to boot from the super grub disk to see if it can carry on.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Don't know what the problem is, while using SGD, it's like there is no hard-drive or the Grub isen't installed properly. Either way, there's alot of files missing that makes it impossible to do anything by using the SGD.

Solution?

Blog Entries

Sounds like possibly losing the address of the sta drive during the install.

Is this an external usb drive or an internal?
    How many internal drives are there and is this the primary one?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE

It's one Internal drive and it's set to auto on primary.

All are set on auto...

Blog Entries

So if there's only one physical drive in the computer, it can't get confused.