Grub problem upon installation

Hi!

I’m somewhat new to Linux and I have a problem with my installation into Suse 11.1.

I have installed from the Live-CD but when it’s time to respawn to finish the installation the system halts on the Grub prompt when it have rebooted.

I’ve installed Suse on one SATA drive that contained windows XP, that I erased in favor for Suse. No more commercialized virus for me.:wink:

Anyone that has a solution to my problem?

You might have to boot from the super grub disk to see if it can carry on.

Don’t know what the problem is, while using SGD, it’s like there is no hard-drive or the Grub isen’t installed properly. Either way, there’s alot of files missing that makes it impossible to do anything by using the SGD.

Solution?

Sounds like possibly losing the address of the sta drive during the install.

Is this an external usb drive or an internal?
How many internal drives are there and is this the primary one?

It’s one Internal drive and it’s set to auto on primary.

All are set on auto…

So if there’s only one physical drive in the computer, it can’t get confused.

Now I’m flummoxed and I would check the integrity of thew installation CD and if that checks out I would reinstall to see if the problem was temporary indigestion, or worse.

Checked the BIOS and ran down the list of primary masters and slaves. None seems to have any info about a hard-drive. That is, none of them knows how big my hard drive is by their info.

I’ve got an old IDE 8GB drive inside the case unplugged that I have used as an “rescue-drive”, booting Win-98 when Win-XP fails in the main drive during reinstallation. This in order to get hold on Fdisk to format the maindrive.

This drive, as I said, isn’t plugged in at all, just sits inside the case. If this old drive can hold the answer to an successful installation of SUSE i could plug it in.