Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Cool VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    Hello,

    I resolved a troubling problem with getting the VMware Workstation 6.5.3 to even complete the installation on openSUSE 11.2 M7 X86_64. Initially, it would hang on the VMware Player 2.5.3 installation.

    1. Use this process just to get the installation to complete without hanging.

    VMware Communities: Workstation Installer Hang 6.5.3 and Workaround

    2. I was also getting an error after the installation completed.

    "/usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libbonobo-2.so.0: undefined symbol: g_dgettext"

    Turns out, there was a required package that wasn't installed. This was fixed by installing glibmm2:

    sudo zypper in glibmm2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    Well, that fixes the installation, but mouse grab no longer works, and trying to use the option here:

    VMware Communities: Workstation: Losing focus (mounse ungrabs) outside area of 640 x 480

    Brings back the error:

    /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libbonobo-2.so.0: undefined symbol: g_dgettext

    Any ideas?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Posts
    87

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    I added the GNOME base system pattern and VMware Workstation is now working. I had the same /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libbonobo-2.so.0: undefined symbol: g_dgettext
    It's really that much fun!
    Geeko Samurai (cc)
    My Recent Tracks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    Yes, you can do that and install a gigabyte of software you won't be using, or you can use the following command and install one package:

    sudo zypper in glibmm2

    I noticed that auto-grab no longer seems to be functioning though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Posts
    87

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    The reason I installed the pattern is because the package glibmm2 didn't fix the problem after export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force.

    Once I installed the pattern auto-grab now works.
    It's really that much fun!
    Geeko Samurai (cc)
    My Recent Tracks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Cool Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    My mistake, you are right, at least for me (openSUSE 11.2 M8 x86_64 KDE 4.3) loading the Gnome pattern in YaST and then using the command "VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force vmware" to launch VMware workstation, makes the auto-grab work properly without causing any errors.

    If you want vmware to always use the shipped GTK, you can add the line "export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force" line into your /etc/vmware/bootstrap file.

    In any case, at least it's a work-around until VMware fixes the problem.

    For those interested, there is more information here:

    VMware Communities: Workstation: Losing focus (mounse ungrabs) outside area of 640 x 480
    VMware Communities: Workstation: Losing focus (mounse ungrabs) outside area of 640 x 480

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    There is another work-around for those not wanting to jump through these hoops. You can use Unity mode, but be sure to pin the Unity menu because at least for me, it disappears not to return, if you use it once.

    Unity mode on Linux is a bit rough, so I'd suggest the steps above.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    32,932
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    Quote Originally Posted by davebaileync
    My mistake, you are right, at least for me (openSUSE 11.2 M8 x86_64 KDE
    4.3) loading the Gnome pattern in YaST and then using the command
    "VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force vmware" to launch VMware workstation,
    makes the auto-grab work properly without causing any errors.

    If you want vmware to always use the shipped GTK, you can add the line
    "export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force" line into your
    /etc/vmware/bootstrap file.

    In any case, at least it's a work-around until VMware fixes the
    problem.

    For those interested, there is more information here:

    'VMware Communities: Workstation: Losing focus (mounse ungrabs) outside
    area of 640 x 480' (http://communities.vmware.com/thread/228636)
    'VMware Communities: Workstation: Losing focus (mounse ungrabs) outside
    area of 640 x 480'
    (http://communities.vmware.com/message/1367391#1367391)
    Hi
    I'm interested if you see the rtc error in your logs with 6.5.3 like;
    Code:
    /dev/rtc enable interrupt failed: -13
    I currently have an open SR with vmware on this, it's not present when
    running 6.5.2.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.29-0.1-default
    up 3 days 3:46, 2 users, load average: 0.56, 0.37, 0.19
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.18


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: VMware Workstation 6.5.3 and openSUSE 11.2 M7 - SOLVED

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I'm interested if you see the rtc error in your logs with 6.5.3 like;
    Code:
    /dev/rtc enable interrupt failed: -13
    I currently have an open SR with vmware on this, it's not present when
    running 6.5.2.
    Nope, I'm not getting that error in my vmware.log file.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •