Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Monitor screen resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Monitor screen resolution

    Hello everyone,


    I just now switched from windows to linux. i have installed opensuse kde 11.1 64 bits os.

    it seems that the display configuration is not proper. my hardware config is:

    Intel core 2 duo e7400
    intel dg41ty motherboard
    corsair 2gb ram
    viewsonic va1928wm 1400X900

    currently my display resolution is set to 1280X1024(auto) with 77hz. (no other option available to set.)the required and safe is 1400X900 with 60hz.

    i'm not so good at console nor the commands.

    please help. thank you in advance.

    regards
    nmb

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    And your graphics device/card is??
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    And your graphics device/card is?? :

    i didn't explicitly add any hardware for graphics.

    the link to my mother board details : http://www.intel.com/Products/Deskto...Y-overview.htm

    also, i use dvi cable between my monitor and cpu.

    thanks for the fast reply.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    Go to yast
    hardware - graphics and monitor

    can you do a printscreen of it and post on imagebam? Or relate what you see.

    From a terminal do:

    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    post result
    and
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    surely.

    here is the link : http://www.imagebam.com/image/51708549763171

    if i type the first code in the console, i get the error as "No such file or directory"

    and for the second command:

    00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller [8086:2e30] (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port [8086:2e31] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    Kernel modules: shpchp
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2e32] (rev 03)
    00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2e33] (rev 03)
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    Kernel modules: shpchp
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:27d2] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    Kernel modules: shpchp
    00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:27c8] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    Kernel modules: uhci-hcd
    00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:27c9] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    Kernel modules: uhci-hcd
    00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:27ca] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    Kernel modules: uhci-hcd
    00:1d.3 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:27cb] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    Kernel modules: uhci-hcd
    00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCIController [8086:27cc] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
    Kernel modules: ehci-hcd
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge [8086:244e] (rev e1)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge [8086:27b8] (rev 01)
    Kernel modules: iTCO_wdt, intel-rng
    00:1f.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller [8086:27df] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
    Kernel modules: ide-pci-generic, piix, ata_generic, pata_acpi, ata_piix
    00:1f.2 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller [8086:27c0] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
    Kernel modules: ide-pci-generic, ata_generic, pata_acpi, ata_piix
    00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:27da] (rev 01)
    Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
    Kernel modules: i2c-i801
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: r8169
    Kernel modules: r8169


    thankyou

    nmb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    instead of console, i manually browsed to x11 folder and opened xorg.conf and here is the content:

    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2009-09-23T08:23:14+0530.
    #
    # Version: 8.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <sax@suse.de>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list <https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (8.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/URW"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/kwintv"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/uni:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/xtest"
    FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
    InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
    InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
    Option "ZapWarning" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "kbd"
    Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
    Option "Protocol" "Standard"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option "XkbModel" "microsoftpro"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection


    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Identifier "Mouse[1]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Name" "ImPS/2 Logitech Wheel Mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection


    Section "Monitor"
    Option "CalcAlgorithm" "XServerPool"
    DisplaySize 410 256
    HorizSync 30-82
    Identifier "Monitor[0]"
    ModelName "VIEWSONIC VA1928WM"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1280x960"
    VendorName "VSC"
    VertRefresh 43-75
    UseModes "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    Modeline "1440x900" 106 1440 1520 1672 1904 900 903 909 934 +hsync -vsync
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "default"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Device"
    BoardName "Framebuffer Graphics"
    Driver "fbdev"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    VendorName "VESA"
    EndSection



    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    see this section:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
      BoardName    "Framebuffer Graphics"
      Driver       "fbdev"
      Identifier   "Device[0]"
      VendorName   "VESA"
    EndSection
    VESA is very basic. I suspect it might be the best you'll get. The output also shows no kernel module loaded for your GPU device which suggests to me it could be an issue. I would have expected it to be there from install if it was available.

    I have Intel chip, not so flashy as yours, here is my section as above:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
      BoardName    "965 GM"
      Driver       "intel"
      Identifier   "Device[0]"
      Option       "monitor-LVDS" "Monitor[0]"
      VendorName   "Intel"
    EndSection
    Try doing some google searches
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    oki. thank you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    i had previously installed gnome version that time there was no resolution problem. the only change is that then i had connected the ordinary vga cable between monitor and cpu, and now dvi cable.

    also, now i'm not able to connect to internet on suse.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Monitor screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by nmb View Post
    i had previously installed gnome version that time there was no resolution problem. the only change is that then i had connected the ordinary vga cable between monitor and cpu, and now dvi cable.

    also, now i'm not able to connect to internet on suse.
    So maybe you know your next move?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •