Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    466

    Default Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    This is my first laptop(HP 6815nr). I'm using opensuse 11 KDE 3.5.9. Everything worked out of the box except the Atheros wifi, and the integrated microphones at the top of the laptop lid. Ndiswrapper solved the wireless problem, but I have no idea where to start with the microphones. Kmix shows the volume control for the microphone, but nothing under the "switches" tab. I tried recording with krecord, but when I try to playback something, it complains that it can't open the sound card: device or resource busy. Attempts to play them with amarok, or kaffeine is just empty. I'm assuming it has something to do with drivers or some configuration file.
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,158
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by 67GTA View Post
    This is my first laptop(HP 6815nr). I'm using opensuse 11 KDE 3.5.9. Everything worked out of the box except the Atheros wifi, and the integrated microphones at the top of the laptop lid. Ndiswrapper solved the wireless problem, but I have no idea where to start with the microphones. Kmix shows the volume control for the microphone, but nothing under the "switches" tab. I tried recording with krecord, but when I try to playback something, it complains that it can't open the sound card: device or resource busy. Attempts to play them with amarok, or kaffeine is just empty. I'm assuming it has something to do with drivers or some configuration file.
    I searched the web on your laptop, but could not find any other Linux users with the same model. So could you provide some more information on your laptop hardware/software configuration for audio? To do that, please run the following diagnostic script (with your laptop connected to the internet copy and paste the following to a konsole):
    Code:
    wget http://home.cfl.rr.com/infofiles/tsalsa && su -c 'bash ./tsalsa'
    and when it asks for a password enter your root password. Please try to answer the questions accurately. When it finishes it will give you a URL, ... please post that URL here.

    Also, please provide the output of copying and pasting the following, one line at a time, in a konsole:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound


    I'm hoping with that information I will have a better chance of making a helpful recommendation.

    Thank you, and good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    466

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    shawnr@fastback:~> rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16-24.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1

    shawnr@fastback:~> rpm -qa | grep pulse
    NULL

    shawnr@fastback:~> rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1

    shawnr@fastback:~> uname -a
    Linux fastback 2.6.25.9-0.2-pae #1 SMP 2008-06-28 00:00:07 +0200 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

    shawnr@fastback:~> cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # M71A.k5JPLyF5+X5:MCP67 High Definition Audio
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,158
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by 67GTA View Post
    I tried recording with krecord, but when I try to playback something, it complains that it can't open the sound card: device or resource busy.
    Next time you get that, copy and paste the following to a konsole to see if any application as inappropriately seized the device:
    lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*

    In truth, I don't expect anything interesting, but it doesn't hurt to try.

    Also try to record with arecord:
    arecord -d 10 myrecording.wav
    and
    arecord -d 10 -f cd mysecondrecording.wav
    Note the "-d 10" records for 10 seconds. If you change it to "-d 5" it will record for 5 seconds.

    In addition to trying as a regular user, also try the arecord with root permissions (ie type "su" first in a konsole), in case this is a permissions problem.

    I searched again for your CX20561, but found no entries for alsa. I do know some of the Conexant (cx) devices had their names changed, and hence sometimes the CX5045, CX5047, and CX5041 ALSA-Configuration.txt file settings will work with a CX205xx chip.

    ALSA-Configuration.txt extract:
    Code:
    	Conexant 5045
    	  laptop-hpsense    Laptop with HP sense (old model laptop)
    	  laptop-micsense   Laptop with Mic sense (old model fujitsu)
    	  laptop-hpmicsense Laptop with HP and Mic senses
    	  benq		Benq R55E
    	  test		for testing/debugging purpose, almost all controls
    			can be adjusted.  Appearing only when compiled with
    			$CONFIG_SND_DEBUG=y
    
    	Conexant 5047
    	  laptop	Basic Laptop config 
    	  laptop-hp	Laptop config for some HP models (subdevice 30A5)
    	  laptop-eapd	Laptop config with EAPD support
    	  test		for testing/debugging purpose, almost all controls
    			can be adjusted.  Appearing only when compiled with
    			$CONFIG_SND_DEBUG=y
    
    	Conexant 5051
    	  laptop	Basic Laptop config (default)
    	  hp		HP Spartan laptop
    So if the above arecord fails, then I am thinking you could try a custom setting to your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file. ie start by change it to:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-hpmicsense
    # M71A.k5JPLyF5+X5:MCP67 High Definition Audio
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    and save that change and restart your alsa with rcalsasound restart and test. In particular, check to see if your kmix looks any different?

    If that fails, try each of the models one at a time, saving and restarting alsa after each attempt (and testing), ie instead of "hpmicsense" try laptop-hpsense, laptop-micsense, laptop-hp, laptop-eapd, laptop, hp, benq. Note for a lot of these model attempts, alsa simply may refuse to restart, giving lots of errors.

    Good luck, and I hope those suggestions of things to try are not too confusing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    466

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    I tried krecord playback and ran the command you gave, but can't make any sense of it. I will try some of the alsa options you posted and give you an update. Thanks for the help.

    Code:
    shawnr@fastback:~> lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    COMMAND   PID   USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
    kdesktop 3180 shawnr  mem    CHR  116,4          3742 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop 3180 shawnr   11r   CHR  116,2      0t0 3510 /dev/snd/timer
    kdesktop 3180 shawnr   12u   CHR  116,4      0t0 3742 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop 3180 shawnr   13u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3748 /dev/snd/controlC0
    kmix     3217 shawnr   10u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3748 /dev/snd/controlC0
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    466

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    None of the options affected the microphone, but you have give me something to go on. When I tried arecord, the first command would cause the speakers to pop during playback, but still no sound. I will keep trying to get them going. Thank you for all the knowledge and help.
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,158
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by 67GTA View Post
    I tried krecord playback and ran the command you gave, but can't make any sense of it.
    To give you an idea as to what it should look like, ...here is mine with no audio playing:

    Code:
    oldcpu@stonehenge:~> lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    COMMAND  PID    USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE NODE NAME
    kmix    4102  oldcpu   10u   CHR  116,9      7283 /dev/snd/controlC0
    Here is mine with mplayer playing a mpeg video:
    Code:
    oldcpu@stonehenge:~> lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    COMMAND   PID    USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE NODE NAME
    kmix     4102  oldcpu   10u   CHR  116,9      7283 /dev/snd/controlC0
    mplayer 18306  oldcpu  mem    CHR  116,7      7271 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    mplayer 18306  oldcpu    7r   CHR  116,2      7072 /dev/snd/timer
    mplayer 18306  oldcpu    8u   CHR  116,7      7271 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    Here is mine when recording audio with arecord:
    Code:
    oldcpu@stonehenge:~> lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    COMMAND   PID    USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE NODE NAME
    kmix     4102  oldcpu   10u   CHR  116,9      7283 /dev/snd/controlC0
    arecord 18330  oldcpu  mem    CHR  116,8      7277 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
    arecord 18330  oldcpu    3r   CHR  116,2      7072 /dev/snd/timer
    arecord 18330  oldcpu    4u   CHR  116,8      7277 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,158
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by 67GTA View Post
    None of the options affected the microphone, but you have give me something to go on. When I tried arecord, the first command would cause the speakers to pop during playback, but still no sound. I will keep trying to get them going..
    The pop suggests to me your mixer is misconfigured. And why not continue to try arecord? I can tell from the lsof that you are not trying that record command that I suggested, as a basic command.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    466

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    I tried the lsof command without any apps open and got the kdesktop entry again. What is causing that? Why does kdesktop have control of my sound card?

    Code:
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr  mem    CHR  116,4          3770 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   11r   CHR  116,2      0t0 3696 /dev/snd/timer
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   12u   CHR  116,4      0t0 3770 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   13u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3776 /dev/snd/controlC0
    kmix      3167 shawnr   10u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3776 /dev/snd/controlC0
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,158
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Help with HP dv6815 integrated microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by 67GTA View Post
    I tried the lsof command without any apps open and got the kdesktop entry again. What is causing that? Why does kdesktop have control of my sound card?

    Code:
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr  mem    CHR  116,4          3770 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   11r   CHR  116,2      0t0 3696 /dev/snd/timer
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   12u   CHR  116,4      0t0 3770 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    kdesktop  3024 shawnr   13u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3776 /dev/snd/controlC0
    kmix      3167 shawnr   10u   CHR  116,7      0t0 3776 /dev/snd/controlC0
    Maybe you have some desktop effect sound that is malfunctioning? Frankly, I don't know why. You have different hardware, and a different configuration I have. Did you try to restart your sound, possibly with:
    rcalsasound restart
    and then try to see if your sound is still being used?

    Or simply boot to run level 3 (ie ascii, with no desktop) and try you microphone from there. The same acrecord commands will work from a text mode. If it works from there, then you have narrowed down that your KDE desktop is misconfigured.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •