Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: No audio in Firefox website videos

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default No audio in Firefox website videos

    I don't know what happened. I did a normal update, and as far as I could see, there was no audio, video or any other media related update in the online that I carried out. After caf4926 helped me out the last time a couple of weeks ago, everything was running perfectly.

    After this up date, though, the video on my usual sites, BBC, CNN, Youtube, and a couple of others, is fine, but there is no audio at all. However, when I download the videos from any of those sites and play them using vlc or one of the other players, the audio is there.

    I don't understand why the audio wouldn't work in FF (v. 3.0.13), but works without a problem when I use Kaffeine, VLC, (SM/K/M)player, or any one of the other media players I have.

    Help please.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Did we remove libflashsupport?
    Has it been dragged back in?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Did we remove libflashsupport?
    Has it been dragged back in?
    Looks like it. I opened up Yast2, Software Management and typed in libflashsupport and this is what I got:

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Should I delete it?
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Try deleting it
    You may need to logout after or even reboot
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    I just noticed that an update I ran this afternoon, has upgraded my Kaffeine and now it won't play any audio.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    This is the version I have installed at the moment. I prefered the previous version. Anyway of getting that back or getting this one to play the audio?

    Thanks.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Ok, just rebooted. started FF and went to CNN and Youtube, they both work fine now. Thanks caf.

    Any ideas what I can do with/about Kaffeine?
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    You need to go back to software management and use the version tab and select the packman version with the radio button.
    k3b may also have done this on you

    It's because they added the packages to Factory kde4. You will need to keep an eye on these all the time. But it should ask you/ prompt you about the changes, so you must have allowed it earlier.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    You need to go back to software management and use the version tab and select the packman version with the radio button.
    k3b may also have done this on you

    It's because they added the packages to Factory kde4. You will need to keep an eye on these all the time. But it should ask you/ prompt you about the changes, so you must have allowed it earlier.
    I opened up Software Management. What do I enter in the search area?
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Start with: Kaffeine
    the lang. file may need updating too it should show

    Check also: k3b
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: No audio in Firefox website videos

    Superb, it works again. I can imagine that the lib file sneeked in with k3b. I have been using it a lot this week and did do an upgrade of it last weekend.

    Thanks Caf.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •