Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Intel instead of AMD this time?

  1. #1
    Dekkon0 NNTP User

    Default Intel instead of AMD this time?

    I've been using and buying AMD processors/motherboards since I was 12; 17 years old now.

    My question is; I'm getting paid on Monday, gonna buy a new mobo/processor and thinking about switching to Intel for a change. My budget is $300 dollars and my current computer is:

    ASUS M3A78-EM
    AMD X2 64 6000+ 3.0ghz

    but I'm turning that into my File/Ftp/web server and shoving it into my closet.

    What do you guys think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    Honestly, I'm not sure that it really matters. I dare say there are strong opinions on this but I use both and find they do all that is required.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Dekkon0 NNTP User

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Honestly, I'm not sure that it really matters. I dare say there are strong opinions on this but I use both and find they do all that is required.
    That was usually my view on the subject, but I found AMD to be slightly cheaper. That's what my grandpa always built so I kinda tagged onto that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Rockyford Alberta Canada
    Posts
    1,388

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    AMD does tend to be cheaper than Intel, however being a systems builder myself, I would look more for a quality MBO. All-in-ones while they do work, tend to be a little harder to config than ones where you pick the video, sound, modem, nic, usb's, parports etc...
    When your up to your a** in Alligators it's pretty hard to remember you intended to drain the swamp (author unknown)

  5. #5
    platinum NNTP User

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    > but I'm turning that into my File/Ftp/web server and shoving it into my
    > closet. . . What do you guys think?


    make sure it can breath, or else you will have heat problems.. ;-)

    --
    platinum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,453

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    > I've been using and buying AMD processors/motherboards since I was 12;
    > 17 years old now.
    >
    > My question is; I'm getting paid on Monday, gonna buy a new
    > mobo/processor and thinking about switching to Intel for a change. My
    > budget is $300 dollars and my current computer is:
    >
    > ASUS M3A78-EM
    > AMD X2 64 6000+ 3.0ghz
    >
    > but I'm turning that into my File/Ftp/web server and shoving it into my
    > closet.


    I think you have too much money...so to help you with that please send me
    your old rig. :-)





  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,235

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    On Sun, 2009-09-20 at 03:26 +0000, Dekkon0 wrote:
    > I've been using and buying AMD processors/motherboards since I was 12;
    > 17 years old now.
    >
    > My question is; I'm getting paid on Monday, gonna buy a new
    > mobo/processor and thinking about switching to Intel for a change. My
    > budget is $300 dollars and my current computer is:
    >
    > ASUS M3A78-EM
    > AMD X2 64 6000+ 3.0ghz
    >
    > but I'm turning that into my File/Ftp/web server and shoving it into my
    > closet.
    >
    > What do you guys think?


    $300 is NOT a lot of money. Buying new, it's likely you'll get more
    performance for the dollar out of AMD. However, because Intel is a lot
    more prevalent, you can sometimes get some extreme USED Intel hardware
    via ebay and the like.



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,453

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    >
    > $300 is NOT a lot of money.


    It is if you don't have $300.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,235

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    On Mon, 2009-09-21 at 19:04 +0000, GofBorg wrote:
    > >
    > > $300 is NOT a lot of money.

    >
    > It is if you don't have $300.
    >


    I guess relatively speaking. But a VERY low end desktop
    costs $300USD. Very hard to go lower... sure, you might get
    something for $200... but nothing lower unless you go used.
    In the used markets you won't be able to much lower than $80.
    That's just because the parts alone will add up to at least
    that much.




  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Intel instead of AMD this time?

    Agree with cjcox. While $300 is $300, and isn't a trifling amount, you will be able to get more bang for the buck if you go with AMD.

    Intel is fine. Their processors are the best-selling and are used everywhere. I have one in my company laptop (an HP/Compaq), and just for the record, it runs Opensuse 11.1 quite well.

    But for those machines that require that Stephen fork out the cash, I prefer AMD. I can get more speed, more cache, etc., etc., for the same money.

    Also agree with the other poster here about buying a good mobo, but with the caveat that I PREFER all-in-ones. Years ago, I had trouble with getting Linux to run on them, but I haven't had that problem in quite some time. To me, they're easier.

    But that is definitely just personal opinion, based on my own experience. YMMV.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •