Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: lxde - no menu bar :(

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default lxde - no menu bar :(

    I installed the lxde desktop throught yast and managed to get it started, but there is no menu bar or system tray.

    There must be something missing, anyone know what?

    Thanks .
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    repo X11:lxde or home:anubisg1:LXDE ??

    what about if you run "lxpanel " form terminal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    I used the X11 repo.

    When I run lxpanel, it says that a copy is already running, although I see nothing but desktop icons and the LXDE wallpaper on the screen!

    Right click on the desktop does nothing, left click does nothing either.

    I can run the icons from the desktop, but they all open without window borders.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  4. #4

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    Quote Originally Posted by growbag View Post
    I used the X11 repo.

    When I run lxpanel, it says that a copy is already running, although I see nothing but desktop icons and the LXDE wallpaper on the screen!

    Right click on the desktop does nothing, left click does nothing either.

    I can run the icons from the desktop, but they all open without window borders.
    You could be using the other repo. I'm using anubisg1 and so far so good.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    I want to switch to anubis' repo. I searched the other thread but can't seem to find the repo information.

    Can you supply the repo information please?

    I should also maybe add that I start lxde with startx, I don't use a login/display manager because this is to run on my server as a lightweight desktop if/when I need to use one.

    I start lxde by creating a ~/.xinitrc file with these contents -

    Code:
    exec ck-launch-session startlxde
    ...if that makes any difference .
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    I found anubis' repo, added that, removed the other version of all lxde stuff and installed the anubis version.

    I then deleted all the relevent lxde stuff in ~/.config/ and started lxde.

    I got my right click menu back again, but still lxde is not being used properly.

    Still no menu bar, and I still get the "lxpanel already in use" message when trying to start it from an xterm.

    There are still no window borders, so I can't move anything around the screen.

    But the background pic is pretty .
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  7. #7

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    Not very familiar with lxde. I just started using it for a week or two, but as a guess it looks like a WM issue. try running "openbox" command and see what it does.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    Thanks conram, I installed openbox and that now gives me the WM stuff (window borders, right click menu, and logout control), that just leaves the main menu bar and taskbar to get working .
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    There were updates to lxde, and after doing those and installing a few other things I thought might be related, it has now started working properly.

    I have no idea if it was the updates or the extra stuff I installed though.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: lxde - no menu bar :(

    sorry for late i wasn't at pc.

    yes, you must have openbox in order to run LXDE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •