Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Compiz won't change settings.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Compiz won't change settings.

    When I go to Desktop Effects to change my settings nothing happens. I have my nVidia driver installed and setup. I also can't change the theme in Emerald. When I was using Ubuntu compiz worked perfectly. However, I fancied a change with openSUSE.

    Any idea's?

    Thanks.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Hi,

    Are you using KDE or Gnome? I'm guessing Gnome since you came from Ubuntu, in which case I'm unfamiliar with it but will try to help.

    First, could you please post your xorg.conf located at /etc/X11 so we can make sure you actually have everything enabled?

    Also, are you using the CompizConfig Settings Manager (CCSM) to change settings? And finally is compiz really turned on? Try using the fusion-icon to make sure that compiz is set as the window manager. Or alternatively open a terminal and type

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  3. #3

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Try opening it when logged in as root and changing some setings. Mine didnt work at all untill i did this.
    OSs: openSUSE 11.1/Windows 7
    Processor: Core i7 920
    Graphics card: ATI Raedon 4890
    RAM: 6gb. Pqi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Quote Originally Posted by ijbreakey View Post
    Hi,

    Are you using KDE or Gnome? I'm guessing Gnome since you came from Ubuntu, in which case I'm unfamiliar with it but will try to help.

    First, could you please post your xorg.conf located at /etc/X11 so we can make sure you actually have everything enabled?

    Also, are you using the CompizConfig Settings Manager (CCSM) to change settings? And finally is compiz really turned on? Try using the fusion-icon to make sure that compiz is set as the window manager. Or alternatively open a terminal and type

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Take Care,

    Ian
    I'm using KDE.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Alright good to know. So are you trying to use Compiz-Fusion or are you trying to use Kwin's native desktop effects?

    And also that xorg.conf would be nice to have too to make sure you have everything set up correctly.

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    My xorg.conf file.

    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2009-09-20T12:34:34+0100.
    #
    # Version: 8.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <sax@suse.de>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list <https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (8.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #
    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/URW"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/kwintv"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/uni:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/xtest"
    FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
    InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
    InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
    Option "ZapWarning" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "dri"
    Load "freetype"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "kbd"
    Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
    Option "Protocol" "Standard"
    Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
    Option "XkbModel" "microsoftpro"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Identifier "Mouse[1]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Name" "Elan Microelectronics PS/2+USB Mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Option "CalcAlgorithm" "XServerPool"
    DisplaySize 350 262
    HorizSync 30-96
    Identifier "Monitor[0]"
    ModelName "C996F"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    VendorName "FUS"
    VertRefresh 43-160
    UseModes "Modes[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    Modeline "1280x1024" 157.00 1280 1344 1504 1728 1024 1025 1028 1072
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    BoardName "GeForce FX 5200 (0x0322)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    Screen 0
    VendorName "NVidia"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "on"
    EndSection
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Everything looks good there. Alright now are you trying to use Compiz-Fusion or KDE's native desktop effects (a.k.a. Kwin)?

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    How can I tell? I have compiz installed. Is the a conflict going on? Nothing works on Desktop effects. Is Kwin conflicting?
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz won't change settings.

    Go to Configure Desktop (Personal Settings) then under Personal choose Default Applications. Go down to Window Manager and see what the default component is set to.

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •