Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Exclamation No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    I recently updated some drivers, the proprietary fglrx and some wlan dirvers. Since a reboot from KDE3 I cannot access anything anymore.
    fglrx was stable in KDE3 and soso in KDE 4.2
    now after the GRUB boot menu I get no screen outbut - the boot runs until activation of firewall or so - and then nothing - even in failsafe.
    failsafe worked once - then i tried to fix the problem like before on the cmd with:
    Code:
    sax2 -r -m 0=radeonhd
    but that just made failsafe unusable and not even possible to get into the shell with CTRL + ALT + F1 anymore

    How can I fix my system without loosing all the configs and Data - especially Kontact - I have the home partition seperate I just dont know how the repair modes from the DVD work...
    Can you help me out please???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    Boot to level 3 like this:

    at the boot screen, pause the boot by moving the down button, then move back up and clear any text in the boot arguments by holding backspace. Then just type the number: 3

    At the CLI login use your user name and password to login, then switch to su and enter root password.

    try:
    Code:
    SaX2 -r -m 0=fglrx
    ATI - openSUSE
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    this way to init 3 was working
    but the sax2 command had no positive effect
    tried radeonhd again aswell but no change...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    Does anyone know what to do? Can I just install
    /
    again and keep
    /home
    and then everything works? most settings should be in /home anyway right??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    You can re-install and keep /home (do not format)
    But it's not necessary.

    Did you try switching to vesa, do as above but use this:

    Code:
    sax2 -r -m 0=vesa
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    i tried this now and i got a funny screen with purple, blue and green.... dont know if this is because the screen is connected via hdmi...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    Have you tried a vga adaptor?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    dont have one sorry - is there anything i should know when repairing / reinstalling stuff - things i definetly need to backup apart from my personal files...
    how does the access to /home work if new users etc...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    Quote Originally Posted by TarQuin06 View Post
    dont have one sorry - is there anything i should know when repairing / reinstalling stuff - things i definetly need to backup apart from my personal files...
    how does the access to /home work if new users etc...
    Re-installing and keeping /home will leave all your user files in place. But I would try getting your system back.
    Please explain what ati graphics card this is, was it working previously with the ati driver? What changes did you make that made it stop working. If you had the ati driver installed previously was it done via the repo or, manually?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20

    Arrow Re: No Boot/No Failsafe OpenSuse 11

    Ok here it goes
    -just copied my ebuyer details:
    2 x Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII *32MB Cache* - OEM 143288 Warehouse Invoiced Track
    1 x Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66GHz Socket 775 (1066FSB) 3MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor 150186 Warehouse
    1 x ASUS P5Q SE/R iP45 Socket 775 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard 150283
    1 x OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800Mhz/PC2-6400 GOLD XTC Memory Kit CL5(5-5-5-18) 146049 Warehouse Invoiced Track
    1 x Arctic Power 700W PSU - With PCI-E, 4x SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed 124927 Warehouse Invoiced
    1 x Asus HD 3850 Pro OC Gear Edition 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card 144185 Warehouse Invoiced



    On the day I decided to switch from KDE4.2 back to KDE3 - as the system was more stable in general and the display driver did not always crash once u start a video and use fullscreen. that worked fine and i was using kde3 after reboot.
    then i noticed during an system update that my internet was slow - throughput 1mbit although we have a 14mbit line - so i tested with different pc and different routersetup - no change on the desktop pc - in windows i get full WLAN speed but under Suse it always went to 1mbit
    Still I finished updates - also an fglrx update from the official AMD/ATI repo directory (was happy that they finally refreshed it) also some other things were updated via YAST with "update if newer" condition
    finished fine
    then i did some research on what is wrong with the wlan and tried updating the realtek driver - rtl8180/rtl8185 - which i tried with 1-click install from opensuse.org - but they all failed due to a kernel condition - so they were not installed
    then i thought it might be due to ifplug and tried knetworkmanager for the wlan - did not want to connect eventhough settings were right - had similar problems on the eee with 10.3 before put usually a reboot helped knetworkmanager to connect so i tried a reboot - and since then i have this problem of an unusable system

    that is all i can think of which would be relevant^^

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •