Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: failed to attach to process

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mt Vernon Ohio
    Posts
    227

    Default failed to attach to process

    hello my problem is everytime I run something like dolphin or iplist/block as root from the terminal it just hangs, so I "monitor input and output of the process and I get the following message "failed to attach to process 11,830" or someother number also all my sudo permissions are what they should be so anyone have any idea on what could be causing this and how to fix it? thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mt Vernon Ohio
    Posts
    227

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    sorry I know I'm not giving much info is there any event logs I should be checking?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,047
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    Same thing here. Weird. Even weirder when you read this:

    If I 'ssh -X' from my laptop to my laptop, it does work.....

    "su -c yast2" : does nothing, cursor just waiting, no prompt

    "ssh -X ownIP", then "su -c yast2": works

    Realy weird.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    platinum NNTP User

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    threatingbehaviour wrote:
    > hello my problem is everytime I run something like dolphin or
    > iplist/block as root from the terminal it just hangs, so I "monitor
    > input and output of the process and I get the following message "failed
    > to attach to process 11,830" or someother number anyone have any idea on
    > what could be causing this and how to fix it? thanks


    are you also running:

    - AMD Athlon X2 6.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR2-800, 1,5 TB diskspace, EVGA 9800GT,
    opensuse 11.1,kernel 2.6.29, KDE4-Factory+Qt45
    - ASUS A7T laptop, 2 GB opensuse Factory, KDE4-Factory+Qt45.

    as is "Knurpht"?

    might you be so kind as to share more about your setup..

    --
    platinum
    Give a hacker a fish and you feed him for a day.
    Teach "information is power" and you feed him for a lifetime.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,047
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    Quote Originally Posted by platinum View Post

    are you also running:

    - AMD Athlon X2 6.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR2-800, 1,5 TB diskspace, EVGA 9800GT,
    opensuse 11.1,kernel 2.6.29, KDE4-Factory+Qt45
    - ASUS A7T laptop, 2 GB opensuse Factory, KDE4-Factory+Qt45.

    as is "Knurpht"?
    You think it's a 64bit problem? My other machines, running 64bit 11.0 and 11.1 with default kernel etc. don't have the problem.
    Cannot find anything in logs or .xsession-errors.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    platinum NNTP User

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    > You think it's a 64bit problem? My other machines, running 64bit 11.0
    > and 11.1 with default kernel etc. don't have the problem.
    > Cannot find anything in logs or .xsession-errors.


    personally, i GUESS it is a problem introduced through your KDE4.x
    upgrading path...but, i'm just guessing...are you running
    KDE4.bleedingEdge on both machines?

    --
    platinum

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mt Vernon Ohio
    Posts
    227

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    sorry haven't been on in awhile just got a new job (finally) an they've been working me to death but anyway here's my setup.
    Intel Centrino duo 1.60ghz 2gigs DDR2 Ram Kernel 2.6.27.25-0.1-pae i686 with kde 4.1.3 and it is a 32bit system so the problem isn't limited to only 64 bit systems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,047
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    Quote Originally Posted by platinum View Post
    > You think it's a 64bit problem? My other machines, running 64bit 11.0
    > and 11.1 with default kernel etc. don't have the problem.
    > Cannot find anything in logs or .xsession-errors.


    personally, i GUESS it is a problem introduced through your KDE4.x
    upgrading path...but, i'm just guessing...are you running
    KDE4.bleedingEdge on both machines?

    --
    platinum
    Running KDE4 Factory Desktop on both. But: other machines in the house running 11.1 and Factory Desktop don't have it. I'm not on it too much (do either X or completely CLI)
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,047
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    Quote Originally Posted by threatingbehaviour View Post
    sorry haven't been on in awhile just got a new job (finally) an they've been working me to death but anyway here's my setup.
    Intel Centrino duo 1.60ghz 2gigs DDR2 Ram Kernel 2.6.27.25-0.1-pae i686 with kde 4.1.3 and it is a 32bit system so the problem isn't limited to only 64 bit systems.
    OK. Congrats on new job.

    I found out this:
    su
    yast2
    does not work.
    But:
    su - (please not the 'minus' sign)
    yast2
    does work.

    This indeed is by no means related to 32/64bit. Rather looks like something wrong in settings for root/su.
    For now, I don't have the time to dive into this any deeper (deadline for huge project on 1st of October), so I suggest you use 'su -' for the time being.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  10. #10
    platinum NNTP User

    Default Re: failed to attach to process

    > looks like something wrong in settings for root/su.

    no....if "su -" works correctly that proves that there is nothing
    wrong with _root's_ environment..

    see, when you just "su" you get root powers but keep your own
    environment (path, bashrc, etc etc etc)....but, when you use any of
    the following, you both get root powers _AND_ move from your
    environment to that of root:

    su root
    su -l
    su --login
    su -

    for more info:
    man su
    info su

    when "su -" works but "su" does not then you have somehow damaged
    _your_ environment..

    i'd guess you can prove that to yourself by creating a new user, log
    in as that user and you will see that if you use just "su" from there
    then it will work ok (initially, until that environment gets somehow
    damaged [maybe by logging into the gui as root, or preforming chmod
    777 to try to get around those pesky "permission" problems, which are
    not problems...instead they are there to keep the boogymen out, and
    regular users from killing the administrator's system]..

    personally, i never use just su, and i never log into any Linux
    desktop/gui as root..

    ymmv
    --
    platinum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •