Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6

    Default No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Hi, I am trying to fix sound problem on my friend's HP probook 4310s. I installed her os 11.1 x64 (with KDE4). Sound card looks configured, but sound is not working.

    I followed this and this guides, but I am unable to fix it. I am stucked in selecting proper module for her sound card .

    Here is her alsa-info

    alsa related packages(full list):
    Code:
    martin@siren:~/Desktop/download>grep alsa baliky.txt
    alsa-plugins-1.0.18-6.13
    alsa-utils-1.0.18-6.4
    alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.17-1.37
    alsa-firmware-1.0.17-1.51
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.18-6.13
    alsa-1.0.18-8.12.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.17-1.43
    /etc/modprobe.d/sound is IMHO weird
    Code:
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
    speaker-test:
    Code:
    bea@linux-q2po:~> su
    Password:
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 -l5 -twav
    
    
    speaker-test 1.0.18
    
    Playback device is plug:front
    Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
    WAV file(s)
    Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
    Buffer size range from 64 to 262144
    Period size range from 32 to 131072
    Using max buffer size 262144
    Periods = 4
    Unable to set hw params for playback: Invalid argument
    Setting of hwparams failed: Invalid argument
    Thanks for help.

  2. #2

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    You can try if this can help --> No sound on HP dv6-1053cl - openSUSE Forums
    --
    Vivek Bhat
    Linux User #496540
    Dell 620 S Desktop, 8GB, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, openSuSE Leap 42.1
    +Plasma 5, Kernel 4.1.20-11-default x86_64

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Thanks a lot!

    I add

    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1 model=hp-m4
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.SXH0RzeuC39:82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
    to her /etc/modprobe.d/sound and it works.
    Thanks again

  4. #4

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_batora View Post
    Thanks a lot!

    I add

    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1 model=hp-m4
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.SXH0RzeuC39:82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
    to her /etc/modprobe.d/sound and it works.
    Thanks again
    Great, thanks to oldcpu
    --
    Vivek Bhat
    Linux User #496540
    Dell 620 S Desktop, 8GB, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, openSuSE Leap 42.1
    +Plasma 5, Kernel 4.1.20-11-default x86_64

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Hi again.

    Unfortunately, this problem is not fully solved yet. She wrote me, that sound works only on headphones. She didn't try it without headphones, because her roommates already slept. When she unplug it, notebook is silent.

    She is sure, that every slider in kmix is on maximum...

  6. #6

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_batora View Post
    Hi again.

    Unfortunately, this problem is not fully solved yet. She wrote me, that sound works only on headphones. She didn't try it without headphones, because her roommates already slept. When she unplug it, notebook is silent.

    She is sure, that every slider in kmix is on maximum...
    I do also face the problem in the sensethat when I plug in my speakers to the laptop the sound comes out from both laptop speakers and plugged in speakers...
    Are the headphones by any chance USB ones??
    --
    Vivek Bhat
    Linux User #496540
    Dell 620 S Desktop, 8GB, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, openSuSE Leap 42.1
    +Plasma 5, Kernel 4.1.20-11-default x86_64

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Quote Originally Posted by vendetta18 View Post
    Are the headphones by any chance USB ones??
    No they are "classical" with jack.

  8. #8

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_batora View Post
    No they are "classical" with jack.
    Ok. Just try running "alsaconf" as root without those headphones. Take backup of your /etc/modprobe.d/sound before running alsaconf. After alsaconf completes start kmix or alsamixergui, hit the sound levels to maximum. If there is still no sound, add those two lines again to the newly created /etc/modprobe.d/sound and reboot.

    I am not an expert myself, just telling you things which I have tried on my HP dv6 to make sound work...
    --
    Vivek Bhat
    Linux User #496540
    Dell 620 S Desktop, 8GB, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2310 CPU @ 2.90GHz, openSuSE Leap 42.1
    +Plasma 5, Kernel 4.1.20-11-default x86_64

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Assuming no sound from speakers, can you provide more very detailed information so a good recommendation can be given? For openSUSE-11.1, you can do that, with your laptop connected to the internet, by opening a gnome-terminal or a kde konsole and twice copy and paste the following into that terminal/konsole
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    Run it the 1st time with root permissions. It will ask if you wish to do an update of the script. Select YES.

    Then run it again (as either a regular user or as root). This time it will diagnose your PC's hardware and software configuration for audio, and it will post its output on the Internet/web. It will give you the URL of the web site. Please post that URL here. JUST the URL.

    Also, please copy and paste the following commands one line at a time into a gnome-terminal or a konsole and post here the output:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    ... with that information I may be able to make a recommendation.

    Also, do NOT waste too much time on this. Simply post on our forum if you get stumped, and continue to look for help that way.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: No sound on "HP probook 4310s" - I am desperate

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Assuming no sound from speakers, can you provide more very detailed information so a good recommendation can be given? For openSUSE-11.1, you can do that, with your laptop connected to the internet, by opening a gnome-terminal or a kde konsole and twice copy and paste the following into that terminal/konsole
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    Run it the 1st time with root permissions. It will ask if you wish to do an update of the script. Select YES.

    Then run it again (as either a regular user or as root). This time it will diagnose your PC's hardware and software configuration for audio, and it will post its output on the Internet/web. It will give you the URL of the web site. Please post that URL here. JUST the URL.

    Also, please copy and paste the following commands one line at a time into a gnome-terminal or a konsole and post here the output:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    ... with that information I may be able to make a recommendation.

    Also, do NOT waste too much time on this. Simply post on our forum if you get stumped, and continue to look for help that way.
    alsa-info.sh

    Code:
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-plugins-1.0.18-6.13 
    alsa-utils-1.0.18-6.4 
    alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.17-1.37
    alsa-firmware-1.0.17-1.51
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.18-6.13
    alsa-1.0.18-8.12.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.17-1.43
    
    
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # rpm -qa | grep pulse
    pulseaudio-lang-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-jack-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libxine1-pulse-1.1.16.3-2.pm.5.2
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.14-2.2.1
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.18-6.13
    libpulse0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # rpm -q libsound2
    package libsound2 is not installed
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.18-8.12.1
    
    
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # uname -a
    Linux linux-q2po 2.6.27.29-0.1-default #1 SMP 2009-08-15 17:53:59 +0200 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Code:
    linux-q2po:/home/bea # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1 model=hp-m4
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.SXH0RzeuC39:82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
    when i add first three lines, sound from headphones began to work

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •