32-bit compatibility wxGTK?

Hi all

I am trying to run a DNA cloning program called GENtle. I have not been able to compile it myself and I am no expert in editing source code so I was trying to run the pre-compiled version.

It requires wxGTK, which I have installed. Unfortunately it looks for the libary at /usr/lib and if I make a symlink to /usr/lib64, I get this error:

./GENtle: error while loading shared libraries: libwx_gtk2u_xrc-2.6.so.0: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

so… basically I need to get a 32-bit library file for this to get working, but I am not sure whether such a library would work on a 64-bit system… any ideas?

Worked like a charm here on 11.1 64 Bit.

Error messages might help.

Really? I am surprised.

The installation instructions are very scarce in the Trunk source. Could you give any hints on how you did it?

Error messages I get from GENtle compilations (guessing what needs to be done since no clear instructions are given):

sh configure
configure: line 1746: syntax error near unexpected token GENtle,' configure: line 1746: AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE(GENtle, 1.5)’

• Checked out CVS sources as described.

• ran the autogen.sh script

• ran the configure script

• ran make

Thanks. I am officially an idiot :stuck_out_tongue:

Now after a couple of rounds of finding a dependency and fullfilling it and running into the next, I have come to a phase where make gives an error message not related to a missing package as far as I can see.
g++ -DPACKAGE_NAME="" -DPACKAGE_TARNAME="" -DPACKAGE_VERSION="" -DPACKAGE_STRING="" -DPACKAGE_BUGREPORT="" -DPACKAGE=“GENtle” -DVERSION=“1.5” -I. -I/usr/lib64/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-release-2.8 -I/usr/include/wx-2.8 -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_LARGE_FILES -D__WXGTK__ -g -O2 -I/usr/lib64/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-release-2.8 -I/usr/include/wx-2.8 -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_LARGE_FILES -D__WXGTK__ -MT TVectorTree.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/TVectorTree.Tpo -c -o TVectorTree.o TVectorTree.cpp
In file included from main.h:96,