Changing to auto-login runlevel 3

I’ve installed OpenSuSE on a PC w/o a monitor, keyboard or mouse. I want to use it as a file server for my home network. I’m hoping to use NX to administer the box from my Vista laptop. (I’ll be installing NX later tonight.) Right now, the box boots to the “user selection” screen, no user logs in, and the OS can’t be accessed from another PC.

What I want is to change the boot process so that it automatically logs my account on to a text box (command line). Then, if I want to remotely access the box, I can “NX” to the command prompt, run “init 5” (?) and then use gnome to do work. (I’m semi-command line literate, but I prefer to start with the GUI version of yast.

Any guidance on how to do this is appreciated.

TIA,

Mike

ATM I cannot complety see all the implications of what you want (especialy as Vista is involved and I have no knowledge of Redmond systems at all). But I will throw in a few remarks.

About YaST. When you use YaSt from the command line

yast

you will get the so called ncurses interface of YaST wich provides the same possibilities as the GUI, but in the form of what you may call “ASCII art”. In fact you see the same and act the same as with the GUI. Without clicking with the mouse of course, but using TAB, RTRN or Alt-Key combinations. Not something to be afraid of.

Runlevel 5 in fact does not to much more then runlevel 3. It only starts kdm or gdm. So IMHO it does not bring much running only runlevel 3 until 5 is needed.

Or see and edit /etc/inittab manually.

Thanks for the replies. Changing to runlevel 3 seems pretty straightforward. How about changing to auto-logon?

TIA,

Mike

Here seems to be a little misunderstanding. To reach the computer and it’s command line from remote, there is no need to have a user logged in locally, e.g. by auto login.