Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

  1. #1

    Default Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    Hi,
    To my knowledge, I successfully make a copy of my hard drive to an image file for a OpenSUSE 11.1 install, via clonezilla live CD. (no errors)
    I also was able to restore that same image to a new identical hard drive, no errors from CloneZilla.

    The issue is that when I boot from this freshly restored new HDD, OpenSUSE won't load because the GRUB bootloader is set at looking for the root at this location:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD1600BEVT-00ZCT0_WD-WXE409K111111-part2
    The above names the serial number (i guess) of the old HDD.

    So, being smarter then the average bear I edit Grub to use the new Serial Number:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD1600BEVT-11ZCT0_WD-WXE309U444444-part2
    (also tried using only /dev/sda2 but same issues as per below)

    But that gets me only to the rescue system... it says it can not locate the old drive name "-part3".
    It is looking for this (the old name of the drive):
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD1600BEVT-00ZCT0_WD-WXE409K111111-part3
    When it should really be looking for this (the new name of the drive):
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD1600BEVT-11ZCT0_WD-WXE309U444444-part3

    I ran mkinitrd for fun and that didn't solve anything.

    How can I fix it so it always looks at the new HDD name and not the old one?
    Note: Although, I can open Yast, I can not do anything on it... I see the menu, but selecting anything does nothing.

    My issue with the above, is I have to restore my one image to 20 hard drives... What are the steps I need to take for each hard drive post-restoration?

    This also brings a fun question. When making a full HDD Image for restoring to another HDD (same vendor/size), will OpenSUSE keep track of the proper connections to USB? Example, will it know that USB port 1 is loaded with a touch screen. Or will it do like the above and it will only expect to connect the touch screen that matches its serial number? Thus me needing to re-install it...

    Thank you for any hints/tips.

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    Did you also change those in /etc/fstab ?

    One of the many reasons why I still keep using the old by Device Name notation (/dev/sdXX and co)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,798

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    microchip8a' answer should resolve your problem. But as you seem to be a little bit in doubt about the way it works ("The above names the serial number (i guess) of the old HDD."), you can find some more info at SDB:Basics of partitions, filesystems, mount points - openSUSE

    After understanding this you will see why microchip8 uses /dev/sda1 and brothers. But using volume labels (I suspect these are copied using clonezilla) may also be a solution.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    Thank you microship8 and hcw.

    Yes, changing the /etc/fstab did the trick.

    How would I go about and do like microchip8 and use the name format /dev/sdXX instead of the /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_Hitachi_HDT7250_VFJ201R23XUEXW-part2 (example)?

    That will make my life so much easier when duplicating hard drives like there's no tomorrow...

    Thank you,
    Steve

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,798

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    Look where /dev/disk-by-id/... links to. Will be /dev/sd.. (when you read the link I gave you, that should be clear).

    Use the found special file instead of the links in/etc/fstab and /boot/grub/menu.lst. (like you did already)
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    In case it will help, you could also look here:
    Cloning an old drive to a new drive - openSUSE Forums

  7. #7

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    If you see a need for multiple OSs on your boxes, it is worthwhile to read Steve Litt's arguments in favor of a dedicated grub partition at: Grub Grotto

    HTH

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    also, don't forget to adjust /boot/grub/device.map

    Further, also have a look in /etc/sysconfig/bootloader and adjust the resume= variables to point to your swap partition using device names (eg, /dev/sda2 for example)

  9. #9

    Thumbs up Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    Thank you for the replies.
    All is working great, as mentionned above, only the following two locations required updating:
    /etc/fstab and /boot/grub/menu.lst

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Cloning from HDD to HDD - Issue with HDD Names

    That's right, it's only those two places that need changes. Great you got it working. Power of the forums !!!
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •