Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Which repos in M6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Which repos in M6

    I am going to install openSUSE11.2 M6 x64 on my laptop.
    I just want to know, which repo i will add after installation.
    I am sure, that as 11.2 final version is not yet released, so there will be no OSS, Non-OSS, update repos.
    So i think factory repo will work in most cases.
    Index of /factory/repo/oss
    Can any body suggest, which repos should be added after installation to run a smooth system.
    Also for upgrade of KDE, factory repo should be added or not?
    Mozilla repo? packman? etc etc
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Quote Originally Posted by mmarif4u
    I am going to install openSUSE11.2 M6 x64 on my laptop.
    I just want to know, which repo i will add after installation.
    I am sure, that as 11.2 final version is not yet released, so there
    will be no OSS, Non-OSS, update repos.
    So i think factory repo will work in most cases.
    'Index of /factory/repo/oss'
    (http://download.opensuse.org/factory/repo/oss/)
    Can any body suggest, which repos should be added after installation to
    run a smooth system.
    Also for upgrade of KDE, factory repo should be added or not?
    Mozilla repo? packman? etc etc
    Hi
    Perhaps a little more information on your motivation to try out M6
    would help a little

    Are you installing M6 just to see how it goes on your system
    (remember things can and will break), or helping in the testing?

    I wouldn't expect a smooth ride either It is after all beta software
    so to speak...

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.29-0.1-default
    up 6:17, 2 users, load average: 1.32, 1.27, 1.16
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 190.18


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    I want to test it on my laptop 1st, and then maybe office PC.
    I know, there will be broke ups here and there. I would love to fix all that, or submit bug reports. For office PC i still didn't planned it. But i want to give it a try on the laptop 1st.
    I know, it will be not a smooth ride as a final release can provide, because its still in beta stage.
    From the repos addition, i mean to install all the basic softwares for x64 architecture, some how:
    Vlc, smplayer, LAMP etc etc.
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Quote Originally Posted by mmarif4u
    I want to test it on my laptop 1st, and then maybe office PC.
    I know, there will be broke ups here and there. I would love to fix all
    that, or submit bug reports. For office PC i still didn't planned it.
    But i want to give it a try on the laptop 1st.
    I know, it will be not a smooth ride as a final release can provide,
    because its still in beta stage.
    From the repos addition, i mean to install all the basic softwares for
    x64 architecture, some how:
    Vlc, smplayer, LAMP etc etc.
    Hi
    If you going to submit bugs I wouldn't look at adding in any third
    party stuff as it will invalidate a bug if you find it

    Personally I would look at just trying to install and see how you get
    on first, hopefully you don't have any valuable stuff
    on the laptop? If so suggest you make sure you back it up!!!!!!

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.29-0.1-default
    up 7:49, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.10, 0.13
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 190.18


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Thanks for the suggestions.
    I have a backup drive(external). I have another partition with ext3 named as 'backup', All my data are there, but copy from it to external one time to time. I hope, installation will not effect the backup(internal partition) drive.
    So it mean, that no repo is recommended here for M6?
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Quote Originally Posted by mmarif4u
    Thanks for the suggestions.
    I have a backup drive(external). I have another partition with ext3
    named as 'backup', All my data are there, but copy from it to external
    one time to time. I hope, installation will not effect the
    backup(internal partition) drive.
    So it mean, that no repo is recommended here for M6?
    Hi
    You may may not loose data, again backup backup backup

    The factory repositories are in constant flux with updates, so adding
    them may break your system..... especially if the mirror your using is
    not fully synced.

    If you do wish to add repositories, then just add Factory oss and
    non-oss

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.29-0.1-default
    up 20:37, 2 users, load average: 0.20, 0.18, 0.18
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 190.18


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Thanks malcolmlewis for being involved in this thread with your valuable comments.
    One thing more, how about packman repo. Because for sure, i will need some audio/video things.
    Is it safe to add it, i am not sure that 11.2 have packman repo. Have to add 11.1 repo of packman. Is it like that?
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,324
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Quote Originally Posted by mmarif4u
    Thanks malcolmlewis for being involved in this thread with your valuable
    comments.
    One thing more, how about packman repo. Because for sure, i will need
    some audio/video things.
    Is it safe to add it, i am not sure that 11.2 have packman repo. Have
    to add 11.1 repo of packman. Is it like that?
    Hi
    I think you should be fine to add that 11.1 repository, but again, first
    install and have a play with the default install to see how it goes for
    a few days, then look at adding the Factory ones ( I would specify a
    mirror rather than the redirector). Again see how it goes, then look at
    adding packman.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.29-0.1-default
    up 1 day 7:21, 3 users, load average: 0.16, 0.28, 0.52
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 190.18


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Which repos in M6

    Thanks.
    I will keep in mind your suggestions.
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •