Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: sound running now!

  1. #1

    Default sound running now!

    If your laptop installed opensuse 11.1 do not sound,you just
    add "options snd-hda-intel model=laptop" to the last line of
    "/etc/modprobe.d/sound";reboot your laptop;now you can listen sound from your laptop!

    If it do not sound yet,delt the line:

    "options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388";reboot ;enjoy it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Quote Originally Posted by freenemo2009 View Post
    If your laptop installed opensuse 11.1 do not sound,you just
    add "options snd-hda-intel model=laptop" to the last line of
    "/etc/modprobe.d/sound";reboot your laptop;now you can listen sound from your laptop!

    If it do not sound yet,delt the line:

    "options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388";reboot ;enjoy it!
    freenemo2009, thankyou for your suggestion and input to our forum. We are always looking for users to help.

    Reference this particular point, I recommend you read some of the alsa documentation. In that documentation it is clear that the setting "laptop" is only a small subset of the many possible settings that can be applied. Indeed blindly applying "laptop" without first checking to see if it is applicable, in the case of the MAJORITY of the laptops, will in fact cause sound to STOP working.

    So caution is necessary here.

    Here is an example of a somewhat older "HD-Audio-Models.txt" file, listing the many different options that can be applied (in addition to "laptop" ).
    http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentat...dio-Models.txt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Hmmm... I seem to have everything working on my Pavillion, and I hear the OpenSuSE 11.1 x86_64 system start and stop sounds - but none of the multimedia apps generate sound. In the past I've been able to open Kmix and this was usually fixed by turning on PCM - but this time not. I can't hear banshee or youtube, for instance, but the monitor bars flash as if sound is being made. I guess the OS itself is using a different sound system than the multimedia components?

    EDIT: Fix: install alsamixergui, and turn options off and on with youtube playing until I get sound ;-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    EDIT: Fix: install alsamixergui, and turn options off and on with youtube playing until I get sound ;-)
    Hmmm ... I'm a KDE user ... have not tried gnome for years (other than a brief stint with fedora 10 on a sandbox pc) .

    Do you like alsamixergui better than simple alsamixer ? I found a screen shot here: AlsaMixerGui*-*AVR32 Linux

    Is that representative of what you get?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Thanks - but that link seems dead. I'm a KDE user also. Sigh! After a software update, now my sound isn't working again. As before, the system sounds are there (boot, shutdown, etc.), but multimedia sounds are not. You can see the VU meters dancing, so the apps (amarok, etc.) think they are playing sound, but nothing comes out of the speakers! (11.1, Pavillion laptop, dual core Turion)

    OpenSuSE has gotten better and better at hardware support and I'm surprised to have this sound problem. I got this laptop back in the days of 10.2 and sound has always worked OOB.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Please post output of:

    lsmod | grep snd

    uname -a

    rpm -qa | grep kmp

    This should work, since the system sounds work. In the meantime, check that phonon-backend-xine is used (systemsettings - multimedia - backend), uninstall pulseaudio and all related, check preferred devices in systemsettings - multimedia (if set to the same as system sounds I would say it should work.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    Thanks - but that link seems dead. I'm a KDE user also.
    Sometimes these links can be time limited.

    But this case, just go to google, select 'images' and do a google image search for "alsamixergui" and you will get many hits.

    perhaps this will work:
    http://images.google.com/images?hl=e...&aq=f&oq=&aqi=

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Thanks for the reply!! (sorry for the delay on my part) Here is the output.

    patti@PattiSuSE:~> lsmod | grep snd
    snd_pcm_oss 48624 0
    snd_mixer_oss 16808 1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_seq 61504 0
    snd_seq_device 8604 1 snd_seq
    snd_hda_intel 565156 1
    snd_pcm 92080 2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel
    snd_timer 24968 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc 9800 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    snd_hwdep 9104 1 snd_hda_intel
    snd 73576 10 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_hwdep
    soundcore 8368 1 snd
    patti@PattiSuSE:~> uname -a
    Linux PattiSuSE 2.6.27.29-0.1-default #1 SMP 2009-08-15 17:53:59 +0200 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    patti@PattiSuSE:~> rpm -a | grep kmp
    patti@PattiSuSE:~> rpm -qa | grep kmp
    ndiswrapper-kmp-default-1.53_2.6.27.19_3.2-12.37.6
    kmplayer-0.10.0c-0.pm.4
    patti@PattiSuSE:~>

    As an aside, what's up with the second screen output from media players? I've noticed it in windows, too. When I plug my laptop into a monitor to play videos, the only video player that seems to play on the second monitor is WIndows media player. KMPlayer, MPlayer, etc. (on windows) shows a blank screen on the second monitor, and it also does so on Linux. On OpenSuse I've tried all the available players - same result. Just something I'd like to know. Only way around it seems to be to make the plugged-in monitor the "default" - and that messes up the desktop.

    Patti

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: sound running now!

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Hmmm ... I'm a KDE user ... have not tried gnome for years (other than a brief stint with fedora 10 on a sandbox pc) .

    Do you like alsamixergui better than simple alsamixer ? I found a screen shot here: AlsaMixerGui*-*AVR32 Linux

    Is that representative of what you get?
    Yes, that's pretty much what I get using alsamixergui. In the past when I've had sound problems, it's usually because PCM is turned down - and that control doesn't show up in the regular mixer gui - I guess I should say it doesn't *always* show up in KMix - but I just noticed it does show up in KMix on my desktop 11.1...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: sound running now!

    I couldn't find systemsettings/multimedia - is that a YaST selection somewhere?
    EDIT: Uninstalling pulseaudio seemed to fix the issue. Thanks!!!! I love it when SuSE works - I feel so liberated from MS.
    Patti

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •