Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    I have a problem with getting sound when trying to watch videos on Firefox. A few days ago, I de-installed phonos because I was getting an error message informing me that it could not be loaded properly and so Linux was shifting to the Nvidia sound controller instead of using my Sound Card Santa Cruz from Turtle Beach. (I have been using this card for the past 3 years, with OpenSuse 10.2 all the way up to 11.1 without any problems at all).

    This had the effect that when I ran Kaffeine, smplayer or any other video player, I had no sound, so I decided to de-install phonos.

    Since de-installing phonos, I have not been able to watch any video files online, be it on the BBC website, CNN, Youtube, in-fact none of them work.

    After de-installing phonos, I could once again use my video players without a problem.

    Can anyone help me out here. I would like to go back to the point where I can watch a DVD or TV program on Kaffeine or other vid player, and still watch Youtube videos, or reports from CNN or the BBC, or any other online video service.

    Thanks.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Have you checked the settings for the backend in Desktop Config - Multimedia? I'm using xine.
    Do you mean phonon ? Not phonos? That you removed?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Have you checked the settings for the backend in Desktop Config - Multimedia? I'm using xine.
    Do you mean phonon ? Not phonos? That you removed?
    That's it, phonon. Sorry, I knew it was something with phono... but couldn't remember the last letter.

    Here is what my Desktop Config - Multimedia - Backend looks like

    [IMG][/IMG]

    I am using Xine.

    I just noticed that when playing a video from Youtube, there is no audio but also the video moves forward faster than normal. For example, a 1 min video will be shown in less than 30 - 40 secs.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Please post:

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Here is the result of - zypper lr -d:

    > zypper lr -d
    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service
    ---+--------------------------+--------------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | Banshee | Banshee | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/Banshee/openSUSE_11.1 |
    2 | Java | Java | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/Java:/packages/openSUSE_11.1 |
    3 | KDE:KDE4:Community | KDE:KDE4:Community | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.1_KDE4_Factory_Desktop |
    4 | KDE:KDE4:Factoryesktop | KDE:KDE4:Factoryesktop | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop/openSUSE_11.1 |
    5 | KDE_4.2.3 | KDE 4.2.3 | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/42/openSUSE_11.1 |
    6 | OpenOffice | OpenOffice | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/OpenOffice.org:/STABLE/openSUSE_11.1 |
    7 | Packman_USA | Packman USA | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /suse/11.1 |
    8 | Qt_for_KDE | Qt for KDE | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/Qt44/openSUSE_11.1 |
    9 | VideoLan_for_OS_11.1 | VideoLan for OS 11.1 | No | No | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/vlc/SuSE/11.1/ |
    10 | devel:tools:building | devel:tools:building | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/devel:/tools:/building/openSUSE_11.1 |
    11 | nVidia | nVidia | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.1/ |
    12 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | openSUSE 11.1-0 | Yes | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/sr0 |
    13 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.1-Debug | No | Yes | 100 | NONE | Index of /debug/distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    14 | repo-non-oss | openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss | Yes | Yes | 100 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.1/repo/non-oss |
    15 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.1-Oss | Yes | Yes | 100 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    16 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.1-Source | No | Yes | 100 | NONE | Index of /source/distribution/11.1/repo/oss |
    17 | repo-update | openSUSE-11.1-Update | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.1
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Repo #5 should be removed if you are using Factory 4.3.1

    Rep #8 is not required
    ==============================
    Though I can't see these being related to your issue.

    Just check in Packman that you have everything up to date - no red or blue showing.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Repo #5 should be removed if you are using Factory 4.3.1

    Rep #8 is not required
    ==============================
    Though I can't see these being related to your issue.

    Just check in Packman that you have everything up to date - no red or blue showing.
    I have removed #5 and #8. How do I check in Packman that everything is up to date?
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Software Management
    Filter by repo
    select Packman
    from the top - Packages - All in this list Update Unconditionally
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Formerly DE, now Antigua, W.I.
    Posts
    191

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Software Management
    Filter by repo
    select Packman
    from the top - Packages - All in this list Update Unconditionally
    I have done this, however, when I click on the "All in this list Update" I get a long list of error messages:

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Some are to change vendors, which is fine, I don't have a problem with that, others allow only not to install a bunch of other files and what not. I can go through the list slowly and make the easy decisions but where it asks whether to delete certain files, I am not sure what to do there. I don't want to delete the wrong files and make things even worse.
    Concordia
    Gaudium est viaticus, non a destination.
    Opus amo vos inicio non postulo viaticus.
    Diligo amo vos have nunquam been vulnero.
    Quod tripudio amo nemo est vultus.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kaffeine & other work, Firefox video = no sound

    If you use the expert button on the error box and save it to file, then post it here, I can edit it for you.

    Most of the answers are simple enough, change to Packman. Some though may be personal, eg; amarok, would you want to use the kde4 one or keep the older more useful packman/kde3 version

    Anyway post the details as I ask:
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •