Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wireless setup - I don't understand

  1. #1
    ConfusedTux NNTP User

    Default Wireless setup - I don't understand

    I've got the latest Live CD , it's all working nicely except for wireless.

    Now my wireless card has been detected, Opensuse is about the only distro that detects my card. Wonderful but I cannot get it working.

    I've set it up so I can use Yast to configure the wireless card. I go to edit, but it doesn't make sense. I can set it up so it automatically detects the ip. I understand this bit but there it goes on about encryption.

    No why is it asking me about this? I want it to connect to my wireless network, not set it up as a access point.

    It's nothing like windows, it's all nice and fluffy there, my software detect all the wireless networks. All I need to do is select one. Why won't OpenSuse do this?

    I think I'm missing something here. I remember years ago setting up wired networking, but I've never set up wireless on it before.

    What on earth am I doing wrong? Are there any guides with screenshots?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    But the device it's trying to connect to is an access point and will probably have either WEP or WPA encryption.
    Network manager will display the available networks and show if they are encrypted. You should know if it is or not anyway.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    Rather than bemoan the fact that openSUSE doesn't work the way Window$
    does, please give us some facts.

    What kind of wireless device do you have?

    Does it need external firmware?

    Have you read the stickies at the beginning of this forum?

    BTW, the reason that Window$ works "out of the box" is because
    Micro$oft and the computer manufacturer work to make it so. After all,
    they have a limited number of configurations to deal with. The case
    with Linux and laptops is exactly what you find with a desktop that
    you build yourself. Mine boots Linux just fine, but it fails with
    Window$ XP.

  4. #4
    ConfusedTux NNTP User

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    I've got a Dell inspiron 1300 with integrated broadcom wireless.

    I get this once I go into Yast and then network devices
    http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/7048/yast1.jpg

    It says it's not connected so I go to edit and get this screen
    http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/3474/yast2.jpg

    I then click and get the encryption screen
    http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/7040/yast3.jpg

    I assume when I click on scan networks i should get a list of networks popping up? Nothing happens. It doesn't work if i try and type in the SSID name either.

    Now I've tried network manager instead and I get this screen
    http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/9...orkmanager.jpg

    I have tried looking at the stickies but I'm still getting lost. It's not my day today.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    The first thing is to learn what Broadcom chip you have as it
    determines what we do next. Please post the output of the following
    command:

    /sbin/lspci -nnv | grep 14e4


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    Decide on one or the other method for your connections. If your eth0 hard wired just works try sticking with networkmanager

    Get info Larry asks for, he's the Man for the job
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    Hi,
    My problem is similar to his problem, using opensuse 11.2 and the same computer Dell Inspiron 1300.

    the output for the command "/sbin/lspci -nnv | grep 14e4" is
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnv | grep 14e4
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)
    02:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4318] (rev 02)
    I also installed the firmware using this command
    Code:
    sudo /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    and restarted my computer, but still the wireless is not working.
    I also pressed the the button on the keyboard to turn on the wireless but no use.
    in opensuse 11.1 I used ndiswrapper and it wroked, but sometimes i faced problems with it. I would like another method in fixing this, please help.
    I was hoping that 11.2 will fix my wireless out of the box .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    On 11/14/2009 06:26 AM, belal mandurah wrote:
    >
    > Hi,
    > My problem is similar to his problem, using opensuse 11.2 and the same
    > computer Dell Inspiron 1300.
    >
    > the output for the command "/sbin/lspci -nnv | grep 14e4" is
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > /sbin/lspci -nnv | grep 14e4
    > 02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)
    > 02:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4318] (rev 02)
    >
    > --------------------
    >
    > I also installed the firmware using this command
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > sudo /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    > --------------------
    >
    > and restarted my computer, but still the wireless is not working.
    > I also pressed the the button on the keyboard to turn on the wireless
    > but no use.
    > in opensuse 11.1 I used ndiswrapper and it wroked, but sometimes i
    > faced problems with it. I would like another method in fixing this,
    > please help.
    > I was hoping that 11.2 will fix my wireless out of the box .


    Please post the output of 'dmesg | grep b43'.

    In your case, I suspect that you need the module hp-wmi loaded to recognize your
    radio kill switch. Please post the output of 'lsmod | grep wmi'. If that is
    blank, try the command 'sudo /sbin/modprobe -v hp-wmi'.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Wireless setup - I don't understand

    Dear lwfinger,

    Thank you very much for your replay. It is now working .
    I reinstalled opensuse11.2, then I installed the frimware as I done before then I restarted my computer. but now it is working!!!

    this is the output that you requested just in case you want to know.

    command: "dmesg | grep b43" (before installing the frimware)
    Code:
    [    8.362191] b43-pci-bridge 0000:02:03.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
    [    8.485769] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4318 WLAN found (core revision 9)
    [   35.929099] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    [   35.936259] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43-open/ucode5.fw
    [   35.949742] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   35.949758] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43-open/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   35.949767] b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware for this driver version. Please carefully read all instructions on this website.
    [   35.960077] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    [   35.967080] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43-open/ucode5.fw
    [   35.989852] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   35.989865] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43-open/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   35.989884] b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware for this driver version. Please carefully read all instructions on this website.
    command: "dmesg | grep b43" (After installing the frimware)
    Code:
    [    7.081507] b43-pci-bridge 0000:02:03.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
    [    7.273440] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4318 WLAN found (core revision 9)
    [   35.923073] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/ucode5.fw
    [   36.032894] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/pcm5.fw
    [   36.165119] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/b0g0initvals5.fw
    [   36.224290] b43 ssb0:0: firmware: requesting b43/b0g0bsinitvals5.fw
    [   37.240103] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)
    [   37.382793] Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
    [   37.383459] Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
    [   37.383872] Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
    the "lsmod | grep wmi" turned out blank
    and I did not do the "sudo /sbin/modprobe -v hp-wmi".
    Thanks again for your help .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •