Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Question KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    I had the desktop view (with the 'Box' with icons inside) enabled on KDE 4.3 (Rel 138) in openSUSE 11.1 (see picture)


    Free Image Hosting by ImageBam.com

    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing


    Accidentally, I clicked somewhere on a toolbar that sometimes appears outside this 'box', and now I can't get the "box" on the desktop back again. How can I get the desktop "box" back on the desktop again ? I did tried switching to Desktop view with DEsktop folder & path to it in the 'Desktop' settings config box (after clicking on main plasma 'cashew' on top right of desktop), but did not help.


    Thanks,
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Just right click the desktop and make sure widgets are unlocked
    Add widget
    Add folder view
    Configure folder as required
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Oh. And when done, make sure you Lock the widgets! So you don't do the same again.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Question Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Thanks, that helped. (+ 1)

    Another thing (was not there in KDE 4.2.2, but am finding this problem in KDE 4.3), is that when I add widgets or apps (eg Pager/ Clock, etc), they all line up to the extreme left of the panel. I tried moving them manually (by first unlocking Widgets on the panel), but that does not help.
    My (top) panel prefs are: 'Centered', 'Windows can cover'.


    (Pl let me know if I need to start another thread for this or if a screengrab is needed).
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Can you move them but they move back at next login?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Can you move them but they move back at next login?
    No, they can be moved to the right by click & drag, but jump back to the left end of the panel, when the mouse button is released.
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Try creating a new user account and try the same thing, see if it happens there. You can delete the account when done.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Arrow Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Try creating a new user account and try the same thing, see if it happens there. You can delete the account when done.
    I added a spacer (Spacer Applet, adjustable), and now the clock, etc can be moved to right & stay there.
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    So you are good for now then?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: KDE 4.3 - Desktop 'box' gone

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    So you are good for now then?;)
    Yes, thanks - the spacer applet fixed that. Was not too sure about using that one since on KDE 4.2.2, it crashed the top panel.
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •