How do I disable KDE3 Network Manager

Hello, I am a newbie here, this is my first post so please go easy on me :slight_smile:

Currently I’m using opensuse 11.1 32-bit, on my laptop (specs later)

since i just updated KDE to 4.2.4, I now have KDE4 network manager installed. The question is, how do I disable KDE3 Network manager, and if needed, how do I set up the KDE4 network manager so it can detect wireless (and wired) natively just like KDE3 one does.

Thanks in advance.

ah here is my machine specs, in case somebody need it.

Just uninstall it

zypper rm  NetworkManager-kde

or try disabling it in Config Desktop, Advanced, Autostart
(But I find this a temperamental config section)

thank you mr caf4926 for quick response… i never thought to uninstall it, since uninstalling something usually yields troubles… but in this case, it works…

now what i need to do is to automate the connecting process everytime i login… for now i have to manually double click the conection from personal settings > network management > wireless… anybody know which application to add in autostart? i tried to find knetworkmanager in /usr/bin and /usr/share but there is none…

http://thumbnails16.imagebam.com/4718/aeed2547174493.gif](http://www.imagebam.com/image/aeed2547174493/)

sorry for long delay… I got pretty busy at college.

Actually I have checked it, but I still have to double-click everytime I want to connect. It even ask for wallet password. I have clicked always allow, and even added kwalletd into autostart, but still no autoconnect…

In Yast - Network Settings
Are you set to use networkmanager or traditional ifup?

What version of kwallet, I mean is it for kde4?

I don’t know if its fixed yet, but the whole kwallet issue annoyed me away from the KDE NetworkManager. I installed wicd and never looked back.

One of the things I love about linux is you can try stuff like this risk-free. Dont’ like it? Toss it and try something else! :wink: