Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: M6 Why do they?

  1. #1

    Default M6 Why do they?

    Hi to all,

    I enjoy playing with alpha and beta suse software.

    but for the life of me I cannot understand why
    they put in repo's that are not going to work.

    Why not make life that much better and put the
    factory repo's in.

    Am I on my own or does any one else agree???

    rushman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stoney Stanton - England
    Posts
    1,169

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    i agree - it does not make any sense

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    I can think of a couple of reasons (which is speculation on my part - nothing official):
    • they don't want you changing from the baseline. If one writes a bug report, and if it is necessary to reproduce the bug report, if the bug report writer does not have a consistent baseline, it might be impossible to reproduce the bug. Hence by not having the repos populated with the factory makes it easier to establish a baseline, and
    • by putting in the intended final repos area, they are less likely to make that change when they finally go to GM
    I assume they anticipate milestone testers know enough to be able to change the repos to factory, IF the milestone testers really must add repos.

  4. #4

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    Hi CPU,

    I must be missing something. you cannot test anything
    unless you install the factory repo's, oss and nonoss
    are just wall paper you can take them out and nothing changes.

    Suse calls for testers but what they mean is only linux savy
    testers. I would have thought they would learn more from
    new users and not pro linux users who always say how easy and good
    it is.

    I have played with unix and linux for some 40 plus years as
    a user I do not program.

    I feel that linux is nearly ready for all users. 11.2 looks and feels good,I hope when it is released it and all the software in the package manager works for a change.

    If it does not it should not be included.

    As you might remember I convert Laser disks to DVD
    M6 and kino work fine a quick except NSTC does not show in
    colour, PAL does.

    I feel I am testing .

    regards
    rushman jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    I must be missing something. you cannot test anything unless you install the factory repo's, oss and nonoss are just wall paper you can take them out and nothing changes.
    I must be missing something too, as I have no idea what you mean by this. Anyone can test the Milestone releases by downloading and installing the dvd.iso or the live cd. No repos need to be added.

    The reason other testers add the factory repos is because they are updated a few times a week and some of these updates fix issues with the current Milestone. You can also update to the next Milestone when it's released from these repos but you can always just download the next release from the developer web page instead.

    Software.openSUSE.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    I must be missing something too, as I have no idea what you mean by this. Anyone can test the Milestone releases by downloading and installing the dvd.iso or the live cd. No repos need to be added.
    No idea? ... hmmm... I don't think so. I've installed the various milestone's from both CD and DVD. openSUSE was up and running with out the OSS and Non-OSS.

    Now if one really wants, they can add the appropriate factory repository, but it changes the baseline. Surely that IS obvious that the baseline changes when one adds a new factory version?

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    The reason other testers add the factory repos is because they are updated a few times a week and some of these updates fix issues with the current Milestone. You can also update to the next Milestone when it's released from these repos but you can always just download the next release from the developer web page instead.
    Yes, but those testing should know how to do this.

    Else IMHO they should not be testing. Instead they will be ranting about aspects that are not relevant to the testing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    Quote Originally Posted by rushman View Post
    I must be missing something. you cannot test anything unless you install the factory repo's, oss and nonoss are just wall paper you can take them out and nothing changes.
    No thats not correct. I've tested milestone releases without adding OSS, and Non-OSS.

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    Suse calls for testers but what they mean is only linux savy testers. I would have thought they would learn more from new users and not pro linux users who always say how easy and good it is.
    Sorry? Where does that come from?

    Please explain how you arrive to that conclusion. Is that frustration speaking out because I dared to offer my own opinion that you don't agree with?

    Anyway, its a leap that IMHO is out of place with no logical coherency in my initial post.

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    I have played with unix and linux for some 40 plus years as a user I do not program.
    40 plus years ?

    I am in awe, given it was in 1969 (40 years ago) that Unix started. Since you note 40 plus years, you must have been part of the original design team pondering Unix before it was created.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    Anyway, this is getting out of hand.

    I happen to believe there could be reasons why the repos are not setup in the milestones, ... others appear to be insulted that I could even suggest there are reasons.

    I'll bow out of this thread, and let everyone else rant.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    Ok. I didn't understand the OP's point the first time. The question is why aren't the factory repos added during the install of a Milestone release.

    As someone who's been testing development versions for about 3 yrs, I say I agree with not including the factory repos. Let the tester do it if they choose.

  10. #10
    Will Honea NNTP User

    Default Re: M6 Why do they?

    oldcpu wrote:

    >
    > Anyway, this is getting out of hand.
    >
    > I happen to believe there could be reasons why the repos are not setup
    > in the milestones, ... others appear to be insulted that I could even
    > suggest there are reasons.
    >
    > I'll bow out of this thread, and let everyone else rant.


    Same here. When M5 gave me problems, I saw related bug reports and waited
    to see how much was fixed by M6. After all, 11.2 is running as a test
    system. If it's broken, report the bugs you found (unless someone got
    there first - then add any additional info you can) then don't fret about
    it. When the next drop falls, check that one out. In the meantime do
    useful work on your stable copy instead of arguing here. You are testing
    the milestone/beta/rc drops - give the developers a break and report
    results from a know benchmark instead of a moving target. That's why I
    rarely test anything beyond the default installation until the RC drops
    fall.

    --
    Will Honea

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •