Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

  1. #1

    Unhappy I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Hi, I am a newbie, I have suse11.1 on my machine, kernel 2.6.27.7-9.
    I'm using external USB modem for dial up(don't have alternatives).
    I could config the modem (after 3 weeks of hard work) to establish a dial up connection, now it is connecting but the problem is that neither konquerer nor firefox connects to any site.
    I log as root, also disabled firewall completely, using DHCP.
    please help me what else can I do ?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Can you post the output of these terminal commands while modem connected?


    /sbin/ifconfig (to check network/modem device status)

    /sbin/route -v (check current routes for internet connectivity etc)

    cat /etc/resolv.conf (to get DNS entries)

    A possible issue could be that firefox is in offline mode. Check 'File' menu > 'Work Offline' disabled.

  3. #3

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Thank you deano for your help,I already have turned firefox online but that did not work.

    concerning the commands you told me to execute, here are the results:

    linux-2q5i:/sbin # ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:77:AD:AC:4D
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:19

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3028 (2.9 Kb) TX bytes:3028 (2.9 Kb)

    modem0 Link encapoint-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:91.144.2.179 P-t-P:91.144.1.33 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:64 (64.0 b) TX bytes:97 (97.0 b)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:63:90:B0:C0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-21-63-90-B0-C0-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    linux-2q5i:/sbin #


    linux-2q5i:/sbin # route v

    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo

    linux-2q5i:/sbin #


    linux-2q5i:/etc # cat resolv.conf
    ### /etc/resolv.conf file autogenerated by netconfig!
    #
    # Before you change this file manually, consider to define the
    # static DNS configuration using the following variables in the
    # /etc/sysconfig/network/config file:
    # NETCONFIG_DNS_STATIC_SEARCHLIST
    # NETCONFIG_DNS_STATIC_SERVERS
    # NETCONFIG_DNS_FORWARDER
    # or disable DNS configuration updates via netconfig by setting:
    # NETCONFIG_DNS_POLICY=''
    #
    # See also the netconfig(8) manual page and other documentation.
    #
    # Note: Manual change of this file disables netconfig too, but
    # may get lost when this file contains comments or empty lines
    # only, the netconfig settings are same with settings in this
    # file and in case of a "netconfig update -f" call.
    #
    ### Please remove (at least) this line when you modify the file!
    search site
    linux-2q5i:/etc #


    hope that would assist you in estimating what's wrong with my connection.

    Thank you for your time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Well, this looks ok

    modem0 Link encapoint-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:91.144.2.179 P-t-P:91.144.1.33 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:64 (64.0 b) TX bytes:97 (97.0 b)
    but your route and resolv.conf files show, you don't have an internet gateway or DNS set. I would have have expected the P-t-P:91.144.1.33 address to show up in your routing table as 91.144.1.33 but for some reason its not.

    I would check your modem config via yast.

  5. #5

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Thank you deano, I'm waiting for you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Well, when you first configured your modem, you will been able to select the connection parameters so that 'Modify DNS When Connected' and 'Automatically Retrieve DNS' parameters were enabled. You should also check that 'Default Route' has been enabled (under IP Adress Settings).

    So, I would check this via YaST > Network Devices > Modems. Edit your modem device as required.

  7. #7

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Hi, thank you for your concern.

    well deano, I am a newbie but I paid a hard work there, SUSE advised not to ask for help unless you try hard and could not do it your self, I followed that advice literally !

    back to the problem : I already had tried the configuration that you suggested, as I tried other options and a combination of options (I know how and where to configure the modem and the IP) but that did not work either.

    what else do you think it might be the reason for this problem ?

    thanks again

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Not really sure what the cause of the problem is. Do you have network manager running, or are you dialling out via KInternet? If using the former, try using KInternet dialer utility. I'm currently connecting via broadband USB modem with KInternet. For reference, here is a some /var/log/messages output when I dial out.

    Aug 29 09:09:11 linux pppd[3589]: Connect: modem1 <--> /dev/ttyUSB0
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): starting (version 2.22.0), pid 3622 user 'dean'
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.mandatory" to a read-only configuration source at position 0
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): Resolved address "xml:readwrite:/home/dean/.gconf" to a writable configuration source at position 1
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults" to a read-only configuration source at position 2
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.vendor" to a read-only configuration source at position 3
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux gconfd (dean-3622): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.schemas" to a read-only configuration source at position 4
    Aug 29 09:09:15 linux pppd[3589]: PAP authentication succeeded
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux kernel: PPP BSD Compression module registered
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux kernel: PPP Deflate Compression module registered
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux pppd[3589]: local IP address 166.179.110.167
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux pppd[3589]: remote IP address 166.179.80.1
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux pppd[3589]: primary DNS address 202.27.158.40
    Aug 29 09:09:16 linux pppd[3589]: secondary DNS address 202.27.156.72
    Aug 29 09:09:17 linux modify_resolvconf: Service pppd modified /etc/resolv.conf. See info block in this file
    Aug 29 09:09:18 linux SuSEfirewall2: Setting up rules from /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2 ...
    Aug 29 09:09:18 linux ip-up: SuSEfirewall2: Warning: no default firewall zone defined, assuming 'ext'
    Aug 29 09:09:18 linux SuSEfirewall2: Warning: no default firewall zone defined, assuming 'ext'
    Aug 29 09:09:18 linux SuSEfirewall2: using default zone 'ext' for interface irda0
    Aug 29 09:09:18 linux SuSEfirewall2: using default zone 'ext' for interface modem1
    You could compare with yours, when you dila out. In particular, notice my modem obtains remote IP and DNS IP addresses during the connection process. Your ifconfig results showed the local and remote IP addresses, but for some reason gateway was not added to routing table.

    Now you could get this working manually by adding default gateway. (Look for the P-t-P IP address from your ifconfig output).

    route del default gw 91.144.1.33
    The DNS entries need to be known from your service provider. These can be added to end of your /etc/resolv.conf file. For example, mine

    nameserver 202.27.158.40
    nameserver 202.27.156.72
    Note that if you do this manually, it will not be persistent. That is, you will have to repeat every time you connect. So, its really only useful for diagnostic purposes.

  9. #9

    Talking Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Hi, deano
    At last I could log to the net !!!!
    I could do it by trial and error (and not by understanding what is going on). I solve the problem by using KPPP instead of Kinternet, and submit a gateway ....and that's it !! and here is the net !!!
    now I'm so happy with my linuxhttp://forums.opensuse.org/images/smiliesnew/lol.png
    I love SUSEEEE ...

    thank you my friend for your helpful instructions which lit the road for me, thank you for your concern and your time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: I could make a dial up connect but can't log to the net

    Edit: Just read your last post. Great result!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •