Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

  1. #1

    Default Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Hello,
    I am a new Linux user and have a Acer aspire 5738G and i'm an opensuse 11.1 user.
    I have problems with the resolution and the sound.

    When i select in Sax2 the type of the screen (LCD 1366X768) the resolution menu under doesnt show this resolution to choose and i have to choose 1024X768 that is not correct.
    Also when i login a message on the screen says:"The HDA intel ALC 888 Doesnt work" and a have no sound.

    If anyone knows something about this problem please, help me because i'm a big SuseFan but i dont have yet good linux knowledge.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by konstantinoskyritsoglou View Post
    Hello,
    I am a new Linux user and have a Acer aspire 5738G and i'm an opensuse 11.1 user.
    I have problems with the resolution and the sound.

    When i select in Sax2 the type of the screen (LCD 1366X768) the resolution menu under doesnt show this resolution to choose and i have to choose 1024X768 that is not correct.
    Also when i login a message on the screen says:"The HDA intel ALC 888 Doesnt work" and a have no sound.

    If anyone knows something about this problem please, help me because i'm a big SuseFan but i dont have yet good linux knowledge.
    Reference your graphics, what driver are you using? Vesa ? Intel ? I note this linlap section on the 5738G: Acer Aspire 5738, 4736 [Linux Laptop Wiki]

    You can check to see what driver is being used by typing:
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Now, reference your sound, you could try working your way through the openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide:
    SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

    Note, when testing if you have sound, please copy and paste the following speaker-test into a Gnome terminal or a kde konsole:

    speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 -l5 -twav

    Note Linux is case sensitive, and D is not the same as d. To stop the above test, while the konsole/xterm has the mouse focus, press <CTRL><C> on the keyboard. Note you should check your mixer settings (kmix if using KDE, and alsamixer if using Gnome) to ensure that PCM and Master Volume are set around 95%. Once you have basic sound established you can back off to lower volume levels. Note the test for surround sound is different.

    If that test yields errors (and its not uncommon to get errors there), try instead this more simple test:
    speaker-test -c2 -l5 -twav
    You should hear a female voice saying 'FRONT LEFT', 'FRONT RIGHT' five times. Its quite common that one of those speaker tests will work and one will NOT work, so don't be distressed if that is the case. IF that test gives sound, stop now, post that the sound test gives sound, and we will look at other possible causes for your applications not giving you the sound you want (such as missing codecs, using the wrong packaged version ... etc ... ).

    Or alternatively, for testing the simple playback, use aplay program. Prepare a WAV file and simply run like:
    Code:
    aplay -vv somefile.wav
    With the option -vv, aplay shows the verbose information of the PCM device, and a VU-peak meter during playing the file.

    Try those speaker-tests as both a regular user, and also with root permissions. If you have a headset, try with your headset plugged in, and also with your headset not plugged in (for speakers).

    Assuming no sound, can you provide more very detailed information so a good recommendation can be given? For openSUSE-11.1, you can do that, with your laptop connected to the internet, by opening a gnome-terminal or a kde konsole and twice copy and paste the following into that terminal/konsole
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    Run it the 1st time with root permissions. It will ask if you wish to do an update of the script. Select YES.

    Then run it again (as either a regular user or as root). This time it will diagnose your PC's hardware and software configuration for audio, and it will post its output on the Internet/web. It will give you the URL of the web site. Please post that URL here. JUST the URL.

    Also, please copy and paste the following commands one line at a time into a gnome-terminal or a konsole and post here the output:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound
    ... with that information I may be able to make a recommendation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by konstantinoskyritsoglou View Post
    When i select in Sax2 the type of the screen (LCD 1366X768) the resolution menu under doesnt show this resolution to choose and i have to choose 1024X768 that is not correct.
    If you type:
    xrandr
    that will show more information on your resolution (it won't solve the problem, rather it will show information).

  4. #4

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Thank you very much for your help

    About Graphics
    My graphics card is nvida geforce g105m cuda 512Mb

    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "mouse"
    Driver "fbdev"

    xrandr

    Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1024x768 76.0*

    About Sound

    I didnt hear anything from the test commands

    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    ALSA-Info script has been updated to v
    To view the ChangeLog, please visit http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh.changelog
    Please re-run the script

    I rerun the script but it didnt show anything


    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.18-6.13
    alsa-tools-gui-1.0.18-1.16
    alsa-docs-1.0.18-8.9
    alsa-oss-1.0.17-1.43
    alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.17-1.37
    alsa-1.0.18-8.9
    alsa-firmware-1.0.17-1.42
    alsa-driver-unstable-kmp-default-1.0.20.20090821_2.6.27.7_9.1-1.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.18-6.4
    alsa-plugins-1.0.18-6.13
    alsa-driver-kmp-default-1.0.20.20090822_2.6.27.7_9.1-1.1
    alsa-tools-1.0.18-1.16

    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.18-6.13
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-jack-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libxine1-pulse-1.1.15-23.3.3
    pulseaudio-lang-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libpulse0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.14-2.2.1
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.14-2.2.1

    rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.18-8.9

    uname -a
    Linux linux-klzm 2.6.27.7-9-default #1 SMP 2008-12-04 18:10:04 +0100 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.Fok4Y2QakF0:82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by konstantinoskyritsoglou View Post
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    ALSA-Info script has been updated to v
    To view the ChangeLog, please visit http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh.changelog
    Please re-run the script

    I rerun the script but it didnt show anything

    Thanks , but I need that URL ! Its important !!

    Was your PC connected to the internet when you ran it? Please, connect your PC to the Internet, and run it again. If it asks if you wish to share the information, select YES. It WILL give you a URL when it finishes.

    If you can not get your PC connected to the Internet, then this will be VERY DIFFICULT. You can obtain the diagnostic file that way by typing
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh --no-upload
    which will then put the information under /tmp/alsa-info.txt and you can then take that file and copy and paste it to a paste bin site pastebin - Type, paste, share. and pass the URL, but this is a long and difficult way to do it.

    Just run:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    with your PC connected to the internet. It will give you a URL if you elect to share the information.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by konstantinoskyritsoglou View Post
    About Graphics
    My graphics card is nvida geforce g105m cuda 512Mb

    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "mouse"
    Driver "fbdev"

    xrandr

    Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1024x768 76.0*
    Dejavu ....

    ... are you logged on this forum also using another handle (user = Aroda)? Thread here: Asus K50IN : No Sound No Graphic Driver - openSUSE Forums

    anyway, the fbdev is the frame buffer driver and it is a VERY BASIC driver. Typically for a nVida graphic device, Note that:
    • vesa - the vesa driver. works on most graphic cards (nvidia, intel, ati), but is slow in performance. Comes with openSUSE.
    • nv - the open source (openGL) nividia graphic driver. Reasonable (average) performance in most cases. Comes with openSUSE.
    • nvidia - the proprietary nVidia driver. The best performance, but can be tempermental during kernel updates or xorg updates.

    Please advise if you have no graphical desktop.

    I am going to assume the "nv" openGL driver did not work, which is why you still have the frame buffer driver.

    I recommend you reboot your PC, and when the green grub boot menu appears (where you select windoze, or openSUSE or openSUSE fail safe) select the openSUSE boot and press the "3" key (no quotes) to enter the value 3 in the options line. That will force a boot to run level 3, which is an text/ascii boot level.

    When you get to the login prompt, log in as a regular user and enter your password. Then type 'su' (no quotes) and enter the root password in order to get root permissions.

    Then backup your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (just to be safe) noting that Linux the characters are case sensitive. You can backup by typing:
    Code:
    cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.mybackup
    Once you have the backup, then try to see if the VESA driver will work. You do that by typing:
    Code:
    sax2 -r -m 0=vesa
    and if that works, exit sax2. Note that is "zero equals vesa".

    Note it is slow so do not rush it. Note that assumes your PC has only 1 graphic hardware device. Note the last four characters in that command are "zero equals vesa".

    Then restart your pc by typing "shutdown -r now" and this time do NOT type 3.

    If that does not work, try to force the vesa driver to a lower resolution. You can do that by typing:
    Code:
    sax2 -r -l -m 0=vesa
    where that is "zero equals vesa" and that is a lower case "L" in "-l".

    Again, restart your pc with 'shutdown -r now' and do not type "3" this time.

    In addition to restarting, you can also shutdown (halt) your PC by "shutdown -h now"

  7. #7

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    I am connected to the internet,
    when i type /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh i dont see anything

    kostas@linux-klzm:~> /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    kostas@linux-klzm:~>

  8. #8

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    no, im logged as konstantinoskyritsoglou

  9. #9

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    i tried both the two commands and sax2 turned my resolution to 800X600 without the selection of the proper resolution

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Acer aspire 5738G, no sound, not correct resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by konstantinoskyritsoglou View Post
    I am connected to the internet,
    when i type /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh i dont see anything

    kostas@linux-klzm:~> /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    kostas@linux-klzm:~>
    Then adopt the second approach I noted in the above post:
    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    You can obtain the diagnostic file that way by typing
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh --no-upload
    which will then put the information under /tmp/alsa-info.txt and you can then take that file and copy and paste it to a paste bin site pastebin - Type, paste, share. and pass the URL, but this is a long and difficult way to do it.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •