Thread: kaffiene and K3B not working

Default kaffiene and K3B not working

hello
    i'm new to Suse but have used Redhat/fedora for some time now,
    could someone help me iron out some stuff with my new install?

I went and loaded the multimedia codec from the restricted sites
    disabled all but pack man and the oss and non oss and the updates

then went and got my favorites K3b, kaffiene, acetoneiso2, gkrellm, devede ,etc
    most of them work but when i launch kaffiene nothing happens

tried it from the terminal and got this:
    :~> kaffeine

Program 'kaffeine' is present in package 'kaffeine', which is installed on your system.

Absolute path to 'kaffeine' is '/opt/kde3/bin/kaffeine'. Please check your $PATH variable to see whether it contains the mentioned path.

bash: kaffeine: command not found

got the same message when I tried to launch k3b in terminal

i reinstalled both programs, but that didnt help

i removed then reinstalled, still nothing

oh yea i cant get my krell on either ( gkrellm is also not launching )

can someone point me in the right direction?

thanks

EHD

Blog Entries

Default Re: kaffiene and K3B not working

Quote Originally Posted by ehdwuld View Post
    tried it from the terminal and got this:
    :~> kaffeine

Program 'kaffeine' is present in package 'kaffeine', which is installed on your system.

Absolute path to 'kaffeine' is '/opt/kde3/bin/kaffeine'. Please check your $PATH variable to see whether it contains the mentioned path.

bash: kaffeine: command not found
    Ok, so its telling you to check your path. What did you get when you checked the path ? ie what is output of typing:
    $PATH

home/username/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/usr/lib64/jvm/jre/bin:/usr/lib/mit/bin:/usr/lib/mit/sbin: No such file or directory

ok am i correct in thinking that i should at the prompt type
    "$PATH"

the above is the result

I typed this and i think i see my problem

~> whereis kaffeine