Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cannot Boot Suse 11.1

Default Cannot Boot Suse 11.1

Ok, I am suddenly having a major problem. Fired up my laptop this morning only to find a grey screen. Something about tab only command. I did not understand it.

So I tried repairing it. When it comes to "Boot Loader" it tells me there are errors. Then I click "repair", and it goes through the sequence. However each time, it says error again. Each time it says the new boot loader is installed, but then when I try to reboot I get an error message over and over.

I then checked The "Boot Installed System" option in repair toolbox. It said there was " No Linux root partition found". So what does this mean? Obviously yesterday it was installed, as it has been working for months. Now suddenly nothing. As you can tell, I am not a computer expert. So I am baffled.

Help me, someone! Please

Default Re: Cannot Boot Suse 11.1

OK here I go again. Tried to repair the boot loader agai. Got this error message.
    /sbin/fsck.ext2: Device or resource busy while trying to open /dev/sda2 Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program.

How could it be opened by another program?

Now it is telling me:
    The Ext3 file system of the partition /dev/sda2 is corrupted. To repair the file system, press Repair.

So here we go again!

OK

This is what happens when I try to boot from the Hard Disk

I get this message:
    GNU GRUB version 0.97 ( 631k lowr/ 1832448k upper memory )
    [Minimal Bash-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename. ]

I tried "Rescue" from he install disk, but it requested a login and I have no idea which login I am supposed to type in. I tried my user name, and my root password but it just kept repeating the request. So obviously my normal root login was not what it wanted.