Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: kde desktop as default in install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    60

    Default kde desktop as default in install

    Does someone want to announce/post about this - [opensuse-project] Decision made - openFATE feature 306967, KDE default

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    ****, I guess I just did oh well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    decriptor adjusted his/her AFDB on Thursday 20 Aug 2009 23:36 to write:

    >
    > Does someone want to announce/post about this - '[opensuse-project]
    > Decision made - openFATE feature 306967, KDE default'
    > (http://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-p.../msg00548.html)
    >
    >


    Well it is not exactly a default install, it is a default choice, there is a
    big big difference.

    And IIRC there will also be a custom button which will allow you to install
    other desktops and or just a console login, so really no difference except
    for the placing on a tick in a box.

    SuSE has always slightly favoured KDE even from the very beginnings when QT
    was still a bit dodgy due to the licensing back in the 90`s.

    Just a storm brewing in a tea cup if you ask me.

    I am an avid fan of KDE ( I have never used gnome except for trouble
    shooting KDE ) been using it since it was first released but at the moment I
    have taken a fancy to xfce and have been using that for a couple of weeks
    now and am liking it more and more each day.

    Horses for courses.

    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    you are right... the topic is a bit misleading other than if you hit next the whole way you get kde. I actually use both desktops on and off.

    This is nothing more than having kde's radio button selected by default.

    There has been for a least 11.1, maybe 11.0 (can't remember) the ability to click on something that will give you the option to install something other than gnome or kde. I think it would be cool if they added moblin to the list as well. (for 11.3)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    decriptor adjusted his/her AFDB on Friday 21 Aug 2009 00:16 to write:


    > There has been for a least 11.1, maybe 11.0 (can't remember) the
    > ability to click on something that will give you the option to install
    > something other than gnome or kde. I think it would be cool if they
    > added moblin to the list as well. (for 11.3)
    >
    >


    I suppose if people ask enough in FATE and there is enough space on the disk
    it would be possible.

    Just as long as they do not get rid of any of the really needed things like
    the bsd games and other very important apps.

    still plays a good game of cribbage.

    ;-)

    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    Very true. Totally forgot about space restraints

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    On Thu, 20 Aug 2009 23:16:02 +0000, decriptor wrote:

    > There has been for a least 11.1, maybe 11.0 (can't remember) the ability
    > to click on something that will give you the option to install something
    > other than gnome or kde. I think it would be cool if they added moblin
    > to the list as well. (for 11.3)


    I agree, I've been interested myself in the Moblin stuff but haven't
    gotten around to installing it.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    I was able to play around with one of the earlier builds. It was pretty cool. Definitely had some bugs then. I've been meaning to get back to trying out the latest build.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    On Fri, 21 Aug 2009 01:16:02 +0000, decriptor wrote:

    > I was able to play around with one of the earlier builds. It was pretty
    > cool. Definitely had some bugs then. I've been meaning to get back to
    > trying out the latest build.


    Is there a repository on OBS? I might need to play a bit too. I use
    Linux for day-to-day work, and my wife observed that I've been spending
    less time "tinkering" lately; maybe this is something I should tinker
    with. :-)

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Moderator

  10. #10

    Default Re: kde desktop as default in install

    I can vouch for the Fedora version being usable now.

    It's still got bugs, no doubt, but you can actually use it as a browsing / notetaking sort of thing without hitting brick walls all the time. The default browser still has trouble with the odd website, but it's got Firefox 3.5 in it as well, and that tends to work if you get stuck.

    Haven't tried the suse version yet though.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •