Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sound Issues

Default Sound Issues

Hello,

I'm new to Linux and just installed Suse 11.1 on my desktop and I can't seem to get the sound working properly. When I first turn the computer on, I can't hear any sound and there is an icon on the lower right hand corner that looks like a speaker with a cross over it.

I have tried the suggestions from this post:

SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

One of the suggestions was to go to YAST, delete the sound card and add it back in, after doing that I am able to hear music from Amarok and from videos. I thought that would fix it so I turned off my computer and turned it back on to see if it did work, but I get no sound again. I went back into YAST, deleted and edited the sound card again and I have sound again.

Can someone please help me out, I don't want to keep deleting and adding this sound card every time I turn on or restart my computer.

Thank you very much.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Sound Issues

Quote Originally Posted by wy8384 View Post
    One of the suggestions was to go to YAST, delete the sound card and add it back in, after doing that I am able to hear music from Amarok and from videos. I thought that would fix it so I turned off my computer and turned it back on to see if it did work, but I get no sound again. I went back into YAST, deleted and edited the sound card again and I have sound again.
    there is a bug in pulse audio in openSUSE-11.1 that your sound is constantly muted upon boot. Just go into your mixer and ensure PCM, Master, and Speaker volume are not muted. You have do to that each time you boot because of the bug.

Blog Entries

Reference the remainder of you multimedia, have a read here:
    openSUSE Forums - View Single Post - sound problems on Gateway M-6874h
    to see if that helps a bit in understanding multimedia on openSUSE Linux.