Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: ISO image

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default ISO image

    Dear All,
    I tried to backup dvd on my hd with dvd95 and k9copy.
    At first, wanted to mount the image. I tried with isomorphin but the iso file isn't recognized. What could be the problem ? Is it another way to mount an iso image on a virtual drive ?
    Then, tried to open the image with vlc, vlc close as soon as I open the files.
    An finally, tried to burn a blank dvd with brasero or k3b, but the result isn't readable either.
    Any good idea ?
    Many thanks in advance
    Jerome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: ISO image

    mount -o loop image.iso /mnt/disk

    (also, your image may be corrupt/broken)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: ISO image

    Quote Originally Posted by New_User_X View Post
    Dear All,
    I tried to backup dvd on my hd with dvd95 and k9copy.
    At first, wanted to mount the image. I tried with isomorphin but the iso file isn't recognized. What could be the problem ? Is it another way to mount an iso image on a virtual drive ?
    Then, tried to open the image with vlc, vlc close as soon as I open the files.
    An finally, tried to burn a blank dvd with brasero or k3b, but the result isn't readable either.
    Any good idea ?
    Many thanks in advance
    Jerome
    Sounds like a duff .iso
    vlc will play a .iso movie no problem
    isomaster or AcetoneISO will do virtual drives
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: ISO image

    Hello,
    Installed acetoneiso, works fine.
    But my problem is somewhere else. The iso file generated by dvd95 (version 1.5p2,uptodate on packmann repo) is not usable under vlc.
    I saw a such a bug report on their forum. Also saw that version 1.5p3 is available on their source website. Why isn't it updated on packmann repo ?
    k9copy is adviced as well but I think is made for kde and I use gnome. Installed it anyway but does not work. The whole process is made successfully but the iso file is not created.
    Is it another application to use ?
    Many thanks in advance
    Jerome

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: ISO image

    do you just want to make an ISO out of your existing DVD(s)? if so, first fire up mplayer to unlock it - mplayer dvd://

    quit mplayer after a few seconds and use dd to make an ISO image

    dd if=/dev/dvd of=image.iso

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: ISO image

    Hello,
    I need the functionalities of dvd95 to choose video, audio and subtitles steams.
    Thank You
    Jerome

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: ISO image

    Quote Originally Posted by New_User_X View Post
    Hello,
    I need the functionalities of dvd95 to choose video, audio and subtitles steams.
    Thank You
    Jerome
    Then why not just install manually the latest version of dvd95 and not wait until packman packages it (which can take some time depending on who's maintaining it)? You can grab it from sourceforge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: ISO image

    Hello,
    Good idea. Never did it so far.
    Would you be so kind to indicate me how to ?
    many Thanks in advance
    Jerome

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: ISO image

    Quote Originally Posted by New_User_X View Post
    Hello,
    Good idea. Never did it so far.
    Would you be so kind to indicate me how to ?
    many Thanks in advance
    Jerome
    just grab the source code from sourceforge. Unpack it somewhere and run ./configure in its directory

    note that you'll need build environment packages, (gcc, make, gnome devel packages, etc). Usually when configure runs, it checks for them and aborts if something it needs is not found. If you encounter this, look at what configure is complaining about and install the package(s) then re-run ./configure

    after configure is successfully done, run make and then as root make install. I just compiled it myself and didn't had any problems

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: ISO image

    Hi again,
    Configure went ok, but after...
    "run make" ? Does not function.
    I get "There is no target specified or no make file were found"
    There is a makefile.in and a .am
    Is it what you mean ?
    Sorry for that but I have no experience in cli
    Thanks so far
    Jerome

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •