Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: a humble suggestion

  1. #1

    Default a humble suggestion

    I would recommend not to do any upgrade after installing m5.after update yast software manager is broken , no usb memory stick devices working, difficult wireless connection. better stick to m5 and wait for m6

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by giorsat View Post
    I would recommend not to do any upgrade after installing m5.after update yast software manager is broken , no usb memory stick devices working, difficult wireless connection. better stick to m5 and wait for m6
    You mean stick with m4 and don't install m5 ? m4 was ok in my books, but m5 introduced a bunch of new and annoying bugs (and kept some of the old from m4).

    Reference YaST software manager, I simply go to the repos for Smart package manager and install the Smart factory version. It works great on all 11.2 milestone versions to date. One does have to set up the repos. That is DEFINITELY more than adequate for anyone who wishes to do further tests on 11.2 M5. Software installs with NO problems.

    Reference the USB stick devices. Some work. Some don't. I've got something like 5 USB sticks around the apartment. 2 worked. 3 did not.

    Wireless I have not tested. I'll try it on our family laptop this weekend (using the live CD - and NOT installing).

    I do believe that ANY 11.2 milestone release should ONLY be installed for testing, and not for ANY other use.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by giorsat View Post
    I would recommend not to do any upgrade after installing m5.after update yast software manager is broken , no usb memory stick devices working, difficult wireless connection. better stick to m5 and wait for m6
    But the whole point of these releases is find the problems and work on them, report them.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    giorsat wrote:

    >
    > I would recommend not to do any upgrade after installing m5.after update
    > yast software manager is broken , no usb memory stick devices working,
    > difficult wireless connection. better stick to m5 and wait for m6
    >
    >


    YAST works OK for me - apart from the awful new layout - after a spell of
    only being able to use it when logged on as root. Also no trouble with
    wireless - Broadcom 4318. No USB stick so can't say.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    "I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by Cloddy View Post
    Also no trouble with wireless - Broadcom 4318.
    What network manager were you using?

    Out of curiousity, I tried the openSUSE-11.2 milestone5 liveCD 64 bit and then 32bit in my Dell Studio 1537.

    The 64-bit was a bit of a disaster. The 32-bit looked promising. I'm not sure I have the energy to search for, and then write the many bug reports on the 64-bit.

    Details: PC is a Dell Studio 1537; Intel core2 duo P8400, w/radeon 3450 HD graphics, and Intel 5300AGN wireless and 4GB RAM. openSUSE-11.1 (32-bit) works fine on this laptop. I have not tried a 64-bit openSUSE-11.1 (that I can remember - my memory can be bad).

    64-bit milestone5:
    • Nominal graphics (presumably using a radeon) failed to boot liveCD. Also tried vesa, which did not work. Kept hanging at a blank black page around time of kdm load. No key sequence would bring back a workable screen. Only power off. Finally booted live cd to text mode. Logged in as user 'linux' and typed 'su' to get root permissions. At that point "sax2 -r -m 0=vesa" worked to bring a desktop. I later tried "sax2 -r -m 0=radeonhd" and that also worked to boot kde4. So something is clearly messed up in the installation routine if it works from text commands.
    • power management did not work. Got boot error and kde error about power management problem. Laptop was getting warm, which caused me to rush all subsequent tests.
    • wireless device not even recognized by YaST (although it did show up with lspci)
    • wired device recognized, but no internet nor local LAN
    • sound did not work (got a kmix error). I did not try to fix sound.

    I wasted an hour on those attempts.

    32-bit milestone5
    • Nominal graphics (presumably using a radeon) failed to boot liveCD. Kept hanging at a blank black page around time of kdm load. No key sequence would bring back a workable screen. Only power off. Vesa setting did work bring up to KDE4.
    • power management worked with no settings needed
    • wired worked with no settings needed. Immediate internet access.
    • sound worked with no settings needed
    • wireless device recognized by the network manager, but it refused to connect. Me thinks this network manager app needs work
    • I saw a login message about bluetooth being recognized, but I did not try it

    I spent an hour playing with the above 32-bit stuff.

    So I'm a bit drained. I may go to IRC channel freenode #opensuse-factory, and ask if they want bug reports on the 64-bit poor behaviour. I have a hunch they already know of these hiccups.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    Graham P Davis wrote:
    > giorsat wrote:
    >
    >> I would recommend not to do any upgrade after installing m5.after update
    >> yast software manager is broken , no usb memory stick devices working,
    >> difficult wireless connection. better stick to m5 and wait for m6
    >>
    >>

    >
    > YAST works OK for me - apart from the awful new layout - after a spell of
    > only being able to use it when logged on as root. Also no trouble with
    > wireless - Broadcom 4318. No USB stick so can't say.


    Wireless works with M5, but the NetworkManager still has the problem
    it has had since M1 - you cannot authenticate with WPA or WPA2
    encryption using KDE and the kNM applet. Gnome is OK, as is using ifup.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida usa
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    I tried the m5 when it first came out and it was a complete disaster did a net install the next monday. about 3-4 days later and the x and hal problems were fixed and m5 is up and running. I fixed my wireless by disabling IPv6 in yast and doing a reboot.
    The double click yast is a pia. However I found that I can keep the package manager by adjusting the system configuration
    in yast. top shows that the overheads (memory and cpu usage is a lot less.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    However I found that I can keep the package manager by adjusting the system configuration
    in yast.
    Would you mind explaining what you mean by this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida usa
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    Would you mind explaining what you mean by this?
    in YaST open
    in the System section open the /etc/sysconfig Editor
    expand Yast2
    expand gui
    click on PKGMGR_ACTION_AT_EXIT
    The default action is to close the package manager when it finishes which I find very irritating this allows me to keep it open so I can find new packages with out having everything refresh depositories and so forth

  10. #10

    Default Re: a humble suggestion

    I'm using the 64bit version with gnome.
    I think there is a minum level of functionality in pre releases underneath wich a milestone is completely unusuable. I think that after the updates, the m5 is under this minimum so I gave my opinion to people who are wondering if to update or not, not to do it and wait next milestone.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •