Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Upgrading Motherboard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    321

    Default Upgrading Motherboard

    I have a few questions. I was thinking about upgrading my motherboard. What I want is a dual CPU motherboard that can handle dual 64 bit dual processors. Would Suse be able to handle this ok?

    Now what I want to do is use all the hardware I have now. I have an AMD Athlon 64x2 4400 (I just put into this computer,) I also have an AMD 64x2 4000 (Use to be in this computer.) I would like a motherboard that would work with those as well as my memory.

    Computer Info;

    Compaq Presario SR5123WM... It would just be easier to link to the motherboard specs

    Motherboard Specifications, MCP61PM-HM (Nettle2)*

    So the questions I have are these:

    1 - Would this work with Suse?
    2 - Would I be able to have two slightly different CPU's, the 4000 and 4400, or would they have to be exact?
    3 - Any suggestions on a cost efficient, but not cheaply made, dual CPU, dual core 64x2 mother boards that use DDR2 SDRAM. At least 8GB max Ram, or more, would be nice.

    I would need at least one (two would be great) PCI-E x16 slots as well as the features of my current motherboard or close to it. Also what watt power supply would go good with it. I currently have is a 400 watt.

    The reason why I don't want to buy a huge amount and use what I have is because I am limited on how much I can spend. So I cannibalize computer parts often, when I can and if they are worth the hassle. Amazing what people throw to the curb, lol.

    My Current Specs are
    Compaq Presario
    * Motherboard manufacturer's name: ECS MCP61PM-HM
    * HP/Compaq name: Nettle2-GL8E
    Award BIOS
    4GB RAM PC2 6400
    Nvidia 8400GS (PCI-E x16)
    400 Watt PSU
    Card Reader (CompactFlash Card type I, CompactFlash Card type II, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, Microdrive, MultiMediaCard, SD Memory Card, SmartMedia Card, Memory Stick Duo, xD-Picture Card, Memory Stick PRO Duo, miniSD, RS-MMC, MultiMediaCardmobile, MultiMediaCardplus)
    4 Sata HD's, one sata DVD/CD dl rwr, one IDE HD
    I think that covers all of the relevant info. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.
    Once you install a modem, the government can look into your computer and watch everything you do! That's why every night before I go to bed, I turn the monitor to the wall.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    I have an AMD Athlon 64x2 4400
    But this is a dual core?!
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    321

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Yes but I want to use two CPUs on one motherboard that are each duel core. I am trying to use the hardware I have and only buying the motherboard.
    Once you install a modem, the government can look into your computer and watch everything you do! That's why every night before I go to bed, I turn the monitor to the wall.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_amd64x2 View Post
    Yes but I want to use two CPUs on one motherboard that are each duel core. I am trying to use the hardware I have and only buying the motherboard.
    Is that possible? I'm not up to speed with such a set up.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    321

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Is that possible? I'm not up to speed with such a set up.

    Honestly I am not sure. Most people just get duel core, quad core, etc. I don't see why not but I might be missing something. If it can be done I want to do it just to do it, lol.
    Once you install a modem, the government can look into your computer and watch everything you do! That's why every night before I go to bed, I turn the monitor to the wall.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,317
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by suse amd64x2
    caf4926;2026090 Wrote:
    > Is that possible? I'm not up to speed with such a set up.



    Honestly I am not sure. Most people just get duel core, quad core, etc.
    I don't see why not but I might be missing something. If it can be done
    I want to do it just to do it, lol.
    Hi
    Not sure how a dual cpu motherboard would handle mismatched cpu's, it
    may work if the FSB is the same otherwise one may overclock and be
    unstable.

    Are those cpu's socket 939 or AM2?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.25-0.1-default
    up 9 days 19:39, 2 users, load average: 0.27, 0.28, 0.36
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 190.18


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    321

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Both are AM2. The 4000+ clocks at 2100 and the 4400 clocks at 2300. Looking at the specs that is the only difference. Everything else is identical with both processors.
    Once you install a modem, the government can look into your computer and watch everything you do! That's why every night before I go to bed, I turn the monitor to the wall.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    it should be possible but your fastest CPU will downclock to match your slower one, so 2300 MHz -> 2100 MHz

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    321

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by microchip8 View Post
    it should be possible but your fastest CPU will downclock to match your slower one, so 2300 MHz -> 2100 MHz
    I can live with that. Having two duel core 64 cpu's would make up for the 200MHz difference. I just want to make sure it works well with Suse and that I can find a decent motherboard. I have been looking at Bestbuy and Newegg so far and they either don't have what I am looking for or I am missing it.
    Once you install a modem, the government can look into your computer and watch everything you do! That's why every night before I go to bed, I turn the monitor to the wall.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: Upgrading Motherboard

    actually, it'll be 400 MHz since both cores in the 2300 MHz CPU will clock down, so 200 + 200 = 400

    if it for some reasons doesn't work, you can still buy at discount somewhere a matching CPU

    btw, if you have an older spare dual core CPU, send it ova!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •