Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Automount CDROM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Automount CDROM

    After 4.3 update Automount of CDROM does not appear to be working anymore .
    Inserted several disk and can't find mounted drive to access CDs .
    Noticed it when I burned a CD with K3B and tried checking data after burning , so CD can burn okay , see it in 'dmesg' , in YaST it shows drive is present , Device Notifier use to show drive when CD was inserted , do I have something set wrong in KDE 4.3 ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    No one , any help .

  3. #3
    goldie NNTP User

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    you can try to add a new user and see if, when signed in as that new
    user, if it works as expected..

    --
    goldie

  4. #4

    Lightbulb Re: Automount CDROM

    How do your Preferences look in "Personal Settings -> Hardware -> Storage Media -> Notifications"?

    Standard:
    Unmounted CD-ROM
    Open in New Window
    Copy CD with K3b
    Do Nothing

    Mounted CD-ROM
    Open in New Window
    Do Nothing

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    Quote Originally Posted by goldie View Post
    you can try to add a new user and see if, when signed in as that new
    user, if it works as expected..

    --
    goldie
    Created a new user account , no joy .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    Quote Originally Posted by zwenny View Post
    How do your Preferences look in "Personal Settings -> Hardware -> Storage Media -> Notifications"?

    Standard:
    Unmounted CD-ROM
    Open in New Window
    Copy CD with K3b
    Do Nothing

    Mounted CD-ROM
    Open in New Window
    Do Nothing
    Hmmm , nothing there that pertains to 'Storage Media' , just have 3 entries , Power , Network , and Bluetooth Management Backend .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    Was curious , booted into Winders and the drive works there , tried my wifes com that has SuSE 11.1 as well , Personal Settings has the same 3 entries , put same CD into hers and up pops the Auto Notification , hmmmm . KDE4.3 "release 155"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    In 'My Computer' it does not show device when disk is inserted either , tried it in the other com and device should show CDROM when disk is in drive and My Computer is opened .
    I do believe this to be a Software issue not a drive issue , that is why I have placed it in this section and not Hardware .
    fstab:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-FUJITSU_MHV2060BH_NW02T6225MFY-part6 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-FUJITSU_MHV2060BH_NW02T6225MFY-part7 / ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-FUJITSU_MHV2060BH_NW02T6225MFY-part8 /home ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-FUJITSU_MHV2060BH_NW02T6225MFY-part1 /windows/C ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-FUJITSU_MHV2060BH_NW02T6225MFY-part5 /windows/D vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,114

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    As the guys have already said, it could be your notifications. If you put the cd in the drive, it should at least automount and appear in /media.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    16 pixels on Google Maps
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Automount CDROM

    Quote Originally Posted by whych View Post
    As the guys have already said, it could be your notifications. If you put the cd in the drive, it should at least automount and appear in /media.
    So where are these 'notifications' at , they are not where the 'guys' said .
    It should appear in 'My Computer' as well , when disk is inserted , but it don't !
    Automount is HAL and fstab controlled right (KDE looks to them for device info) ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •