Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: M5 won't boot - mostly.

  1. #1

    Default M5 won't boot - mostly.

    I've made a clean install from DVD and got the same result as I did by
    installing earlier milestones and gradually updating via the repos. Booting
    from GRUB just gets me a black screen of death with nothing working and
    requiring a hard boot. Guess I'll wait for M6 for another clean install.

    Having said that, I am using M5 at the moment as one of my gradual builds
    let me log on after a few abortive attempts. It seems that once it works
    once it sort of gets into the habit - it's just a matter of getting lucky in
    the first couple of tries.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    "I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida usa
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cloddy View Post
    I've made a clean install from DVD and got the same result as I did by
    installing earlier milestones and gradually updating via the repos. Booting
    from GRUB just gets me a black screen of death with nothing working and
    requiring a hard boot. Guess I'll wait for M6 for another clean install.

    Having said that, I am using M5 at the moment as one of my gradual builds
    let me log on after a few abortive attempts. It seems that once it works
    once it sort of gets into the habit - it's just a matter of getting lucky in
    the first couple of tries.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    "I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."
    I have tried doing a net install reboot gives a borked system
    tried the workaround from bug 528397 using chroot no good
    tried putting the radeon driver in my xorg.conf file and that gives me a real pretty blue and green stripped screen with a square with smaller stripes that works like a mouse no vt 1-6etc

    tried the kde4 live with the same results
    I am thinking about doing a minimal install and see what happens
    Is there any luck with gnome ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    What worked for me was booting into runlevel 3 and using the startx command.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida usa
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    What worked for me was reinstalling and getting the latest build

  6. #6

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    dale14846 wrote:

    >
    > What worked for me was reinstalling and getting the latest build
    >


    It's been working/not-working for a while. One machine or partition works
    but another doesn't. Sometimes, due to some GRUB issues, there are more than
    one entry in the menu. One doesn't work after several tries, the other does
    after a couple and then for ever after. Luck of the draw. With me it's the
    fresh install that doesn't work but the old one does.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    "I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Poland, Tarnw
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    I solve that doing it
    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=528397#c3
    Try as work-around to change /etc/init.d/earlyxdm

    -# Should-Start: gpm firstboot
    +# Should-Start: gpm firstboot haldaemon
    After this change my system always booting perfect.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: M5 won't boot - mostly.

    For those folks who, like me, had continual hangs while booting the x86 KDE4 live CD, never getting to a desktop or a console prompt; gathered from various threads at opensuse sites:

    1. at boot time, select "text" via the F3 options (not vesa, or resolution, etc)
    2. when console/terminal prompt comes up, enter "root" (no quote marks, no subsequent password.
    3. at command prompt, type "cd /etc/init.d" (no quote marks)
    4. at next command prompt, "nano earlyxdm" (ditto)
    5. find the "Should-Start" line, and add "haldaemon" at the end of it, behind "firstboot", leaving a space between the words.
    6. save the file (CTL+O, I believe, and use the same file name, i.e., overwrite)
    7. exit nano (CTL+X, I believe)
    8. back at command prompt, type "insserv" (no quote markes)
    9. lastly, type "startx" (ditto) ... and then wait quite a while while the graphical KDE4 desktop loads.

    You can use RandR utility (if needed) to change the resolution after desktop is loaded.

    You have to do all of the above each time you boot from the M5 live CD, unless they come out with this fixed in M6, or (I suppose), you install to HDD. Or, you are adept at fixing the .ISO image to reflect the change needed above in the "earlyxdm" file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •