Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installing New Kernel / Hauppage HVR 3000

Default Installing New Kernel / Hauppage HVR 3000

Yippee! After several years of struggling trying to get this card to work, I have just read the following on Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-3000 - LinuxTVWiki: "Kernels 2.6.28-rc1 and later have a working multiple frontend driver built in."

I am running 11.1/KDE3.5.10, with the original kernel, 2.6.27.25-0.1-pae, so I'm hoping that updating the kernel (to 2.6.30?) will fix the problem.

HOWEVER, I have never done this before, and I'm scared! I notice that there are 1-click install kernel packages in the openSUSE Build Service, but from reading I've done in the past, I don't believe it can be that simple!

I'd be very, very grateful for any guidance about the best, most up-to-date, idiot-proof (i.e. me-proof!) way of doing this.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Installing New Kernel / Hauppage HVR 3000

What you could do, in order to gain some experience, is download the live CD for openSUSE-11.2 milestone5 Software.openSUSE.org , and do NOT install it to your hard drive, but rather just play with it, and see how it works with your Hauppage HVR3000. I assume you know how to do the md5sum check on the liveCD's iso file (before burning) and then burn at a slow speed on high quality media, do the media check, and then run the live CD.

It has a newer kernel version, and the 11.2 milestone5 may indicate to you whether it is worth the effort to play with 11.1's kernel version.

Also, if the 11.2 milestone5 does not work, you could even consider writting a bug report on it.

Still, if you decide to custom compile a kernel, we have some experts on this forum who can help you (but I am not one of them).

Great idea, Oldcpu. Thanks as always!

Also, thank you for all your support in the past on this issue. I've almost had this troublesome card working on occasions, but never quite made it. Let's hope this does it.

More trouble, I'm afraid.