Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Pinnacle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Pinnacle

    Hello All,
    My machine is equiped with a pinnacle video input/output card. I have been looking for a while to find drivers but by pinnacle, linux is far, far, far foreighn word ...
    Is it another way to get it working ? The goal were to be able to acquire video, with vlc or any kind.
    Many Thanks in advance
    new user x

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    New User X adjusted his/her AFDB on Wednesday 05 Aug 2009 16:06 to write:

    >
    > Hello All,
    > My machine is equiped with a pinnacle video input/output card. I have
    > been looking for a while to find drivers but by pinnacle, linux is far,
    > far, far foreighn word ...
    > Is it another way to get it working ? The goal were to be able to
    > acquire video, with vlc or any kind.
    > Many Thanks in advance
    > new user x
    >
    >


    Is this page any help:

    http://www.linuxtv.org/v4lwiki/index.php/Main_Page

    Also what is the hardware exactly, maybe there is support already in the
    kernel.

    if you run:

    lspci -v

    in a console cut and paste the relevant part back here, if there is not
    enough info then do:

    lspci -vv

    for even more.

    HTH

    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    Hallo Mark,
    02:04.0 Multimedia controller: Pinnacle Systems Inc. AV/DV Studio Capture Card
    Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0023
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 5
    Memory at eb032000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2

    02:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0015 (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
    Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 1ff0
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 18
    Memory at eb033000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
    Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 2
    Kernel driver in use: ohci1394
    Kernel modules: ohci1394

    These are probably what has been recognised. But why to differents things ?

    Do you know an application that can be used for video acquisition (avi) ?
    Thank You in advance
    new user x

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    New User X adjusted his/her AFDB on Wednesday 05 Aug 2009 22:16 to write:

    >
    > Hallo Mark,
    > -02:04.0 Multimedia controller: Pinnacle Systems Inc. AV/DV Studio
    > Capture Card
    > Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0023
    > Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 5
    > Memory at eb032000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    > Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
    >
    > 02:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0015
    > (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
    > Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 1ff0
    > Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 18
    > Memory at eb033000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
    > Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 2
    > Kernel driver in use: ohci1394
    > Kernel modules: ohci1394-
    > These are probably what has been recognised. But why to differents
    > things ?
    >
    > Do you know an application that can be used for video acquisition (avi)
    > ?
    > Thank You in advance
    > new user x
    >
    >


    HY,

    Can you do lspci again with the :

    -vv

    for a bit more output I only need the top one, I can probably use what you
    have given me though but just for completeness.

    Be back in a bit.


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    baskitcaise adjusted his/her AFDB on Wednesday 05 Aug 2009 22:42 to write:


    >
    > for a bit more output I only need the top one, I can probably use what you
    > have given me though but just for completeness.
    >
    > Be back in a bit.
    >
    >



    Just had a quick snoop around and that card should work fine, I think kino
    is the software that is suited to do stuff with it.

    Not my specialist subject video editing.

    But we should be able to get the card working, what you do afterwards is up
    to you :-)


    Have a look at the output of Yast>Hardware>Hardware Information see if the
    card is listed and if it is using any modules IIRC it might be using bttv
    but mot sure till I grab the specs from pinnacle.


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    Hello Mark,
    Result of -vv gives :
    02:04.0 Multimedia controller: Pinnacle Systems Inc. AV/DV Studio Capture Card
    Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0023
    Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort+ <MAbort+ >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 32 (2000ns min, 4000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 5
    Region 0: Memory at eb032000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI+ D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

    02:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0015 (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
    Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Device 0023
    Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 32 (8000ns min, 20000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 18
    Region 0: Memory at eb033000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
    Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 2
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Kernel driver in use: ohci1394
    Kernel modules: ohci1394

    I don't know what dou you mean with IIRC. Yes, the card is listed as IEEE1394, Pinnacle Firewire 1394 using kernel driver ohci1394 and Multimedia Controller AV/DV with no driver indicated.
    Does it help ?
    I'll try kino.
    I tried to install avidemux as well. I fiund it in the software list. Installed but enable to launch it, has been no application log/icon added.
    Bye
    new user x

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    Hello,
    Kino needs the raw1394 module to be installed. What I did. But kino still writes that this module is not installed.
    Any good idea ?
    The card is equiped with an analog input/ouput box to interface with a vhs device for instance and this is what I am now trying to use. This is probably the reason of the second input in the ispci list.
    Is it any additional module to install ?
    many Thanks in advance
    new user x

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    New User X adjusted his/her AFDB on Thursday 06 Aug 2009 11:06 to write:

    >
    > Hello,
    > Kino needs the raw1394 module to be installed. What I did. But kino
    > still writes that this module is not installed.
    > Any good idea ?
    > The card is equiped with an analog input/ouput box to interface with a
    > vhs device for instance and this is what I am now trying to use. This is
    > probably the reason of the second input in the ispci list.
    > Is it any additional module to install ?
    > many Thanks in advance
    > new user x
    >
    >


    You will have to bear with me here as I am just out the door to fix a
    custards* network, will be back later and have a look for you.

    Unless anyone else can jump in.


    * a mix of "cust"omer and err.. umm, word start with "b" cannot think of it
    at this moment :-)


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    Hello Mark,
    I found a advc-100 to convert the analog to digital and so able to use the digital 1394 port.
    Kino and video capture are now working well.
    I will post another thread for avidemux.
    Many Thanks for your help.
    new user x

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Pinnacle

    New User X adjusted his/her AFDB on Thursday 06 Aug 2009 11:56 to write:

    >
    > Hello Mark,
    > I found a advc-100 to convert the analog to digital and so able to use
    > the digital 1394 port.
    > Kino and video capture are now working well.
    > I will post another thread for avidemux.
    > Many Thanks for your help.
    > new user x
    >
    >



    Glad you got it working ( have you got a first name? feel stupid calling you
    new User X )

    :-)

    Sorry was not here, not only was I out all day but when I came back my main
    machine had literally blown up, one of the capacitors decided it had had
    enough so a new board is on the way ( computers don`t ya just love them )


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •