Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: dual sata

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    34

    Question dual sata

    I have 2 sata hdd,sda has WinXP and sdb has suse 11.1. I have to unplug one from the mobo to use the other. How can I use grub to be able to choose the one I want to boot into when they are both plugged into the mobo?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: dual sata

    You need to plug the suse hd in the first sata socket and in the mobo bios make sure that it is set as first boot hd. Once you have suse booting with both hd's connected we can show you how to add a entry to grub to boot windows.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: dual sata

    Sorry for the delay in posting. Suse has the drive listed ad sda and it boots first if I don't unplug it from the mobo. Both drives are plugged into the mobo. I don't know how to access the bios in suse to check boot order.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: dual sata

    The BIOS in your Motherboard
    Usually when you reboot you will see info on how to access it:
    eg: Press Delete to enter bios setup
    or Press Esc to enter bios setup
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: dual sata

    OK. The hdd boot priority is suse with XP as the second boot hd. How do I get grub to show both drives and give the option of booting to either drive?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: dual sata

    If the suse drive is booting first, then suse should be booting. Maybe you mean you want to add an entry for xp in the suse boot menu?

    If so, boot in to suse and open a terminal and become su and type:

    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Post result here
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: dual sata

    Here is the output:

    hock@linux-rcz0:~> su
    Password:
    linux-rcz0:/home/dshock # fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x178e7c28

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 2611 20972826 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 2612 30401 223223175 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sdg: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000de2ee

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdg1 * 1 9728 78140128+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    linux-rcz0:/home/dshock #

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: dual sata

    You need to edit a file /boot/grub/menu.lst

    To open it you need to do either (depending if you use gnome or kde)

    kdesu kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst

    gnomesu gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

    Add this under the failsafe section:

    Code:
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader (hd1,0)+1
    Save

    Hopefully this will work.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: dual sata

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE 11.1 - 2.6.27.25-0.1
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.25-0.1-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD2500AAJS-22VTA0_WD-WMART1964017-part1 showopts ide=nodma apm=off noresume nosmp maxcpus=0 edd=off powersaved=off nohz=off highres=off processor.max_cstate=1 x11failsafe vga=0x345
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.27.25-0.1-default

    Where exactly do I enter these comments? Do I leave the kernel information intact or change the whole thing to these short comments?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: dual sata

    You enter it separately so it will look like this:

    Code:
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE 11.1 - 2.6.27.25-0.1
        root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.25-0.1-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD2500AAJS-22VTA0_WD-WMART1964017-part1 showopts ide=nodma apm=off noresume nosmp maxcpus=0 edd=off powersaved=off nohz=off highres=off processor.max_cstate=1 x11failsafe vga=0x345
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.27.25-0.1-default
    
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader (hd1,0)+1
    Of course your default suse boot will be above the failsafe entry!!
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •