Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    121

    Question Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    Hello,
    I would like to monitor my system and I heard that IM-sensors could do that and I have read else where that libsensors3 should be installed with 11.0. How do I start it and use it to monitor my system health?
    Thanks for any replies,
    Thank you,
    M13

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    408

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    Install and configure sensors packages and type :
    Code:
    sensors-detect
    in a terminal as root .
    Then you can use the "sensors" command in a terminal to have informations about your sensors. The best is to use a GUI such as gkrellm or ksensors to have a constant sensor monitor in your graphical environment.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    I am pretty weak in using openSuse, how do I install and configure the sensor packages? It says that libsensor3 is installed but when I su and input sensors-detect it says command not found. Thank you for any help.
    Thank you,
    M13

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    I think you have to install the sensors package, available in the oss repo (or the DVD, for opensuse 11.0 it's the same 3.0.2 version). At least I had to, to run sensors-detect.

    HOWEVER, ksensors has been working in my laptop for a long time now and, according to YAST, sensors is not installed, only libsensors3 and 4. Maybe I removed it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    I am obviously missing something, I installed ksensors and it says it is installed but I cannot seem to find it in the menu or through search. I tried putting it in the terminal and still no luck. Where is it or how do I get it to launch please.
    Thank you for any help.
    Thank you,
    M13

  6. #6

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    Quote Originally Posted by M13 View Post
    I am obviously missing something, I installed ksensors and ...
    I think you're mixing things up.

    sensors (that includes the sensors-detect script) is one package.
    ksensors is another.
    libsensors is yet another.
    and lm-sensors, well, you can guess. I don't think I ever used it, or it's the 'same' as sensors.

    So, did you install sensors?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    I think you're mixing things up.

    sensors (that includes the sensors-detect script) is one package.
    ksensors is another.
    libsensors is yet another.
    and lm-sensors, well, you can guess. I don't think I ever used it, or it's the 'same' as sensors.

    So, did you install sensors?
    Thanks brunomcl, well according to Yast, libsensor3 was installed and I installed ksensors. I did start KDE System Guard and added cpu temp but it is fixed at 40c so it is not operating correctly or seeing the sensor.
    I will read the links conram suggested and see if I can learn more.
    Thanks again,
    Thank you,
    M13

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    BUT you DIDN'T install SENSORS, did you? Without it, you can't run sensors-detect.

    My apologies for the emphasis, but you seem to have missed the point twice already

  10. #10

    Default Re: Libsensors3 or Im sensor how to??

    Hopefully the op had a chance to read the link from the old thread I gave him.
    It is a very useful thread. How I wish an old friend by the name of harryc is still very active (he is a very nice respectable man) and some of the original participant of the thread link specially the starter to re assist.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •