Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    46

    Default Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Hi,

    I've recently found a way to call cheaply to poland from UK using Freecall. I've used on windows without any problems.
    I wanted to use it on openSuSe and found on their website that you can download Linphone and use it on Linux.
    I've downloaded it and now I don't know how to configure it.

    Any Linphone users out there?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    You will find that Freecall is another Sister to voipcheap.com (which I use).

    I don't need their software or any other software I just use a SIP device with my router and then just plug a regular phone in the SIP device. I use it for all my daytime and international calls.

    Freecall have instructions here:
    Code:
    http://www.freecall.com/en/instructions.html#sip
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Ok, maybe I wasn't clear.

    WHat I did is I found a program on the internet that I downloaded (Freecall) and used it for calls to poland (no hardware, just software on a pc on win machine).
    Because I Wanted my wife to use it as well I wanted to install it on her openSuSe 11.1. I followed advice on freecall website to install linux software called Linphone. ANd now I don't know what's next... how to configure it... I didn't have to configure anything on windows...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Well did you try the Linphone home page for a man page or FAQ's?
    I have never used Linphone.
    I know exactly what Freecall is and what you are refering to.
    But hardware gets the vote from me every time.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Is there any other easy way to make internet calls to landlines and mobiles abroad on linux?

    I think configuring Linphone very difficult and didn't find any information how to easy configure it...

  6. #6
    fuggifuggi NNTP User

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    see here. I'm not sure if it will work for you, it did for me. Good luck!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Hi,

    I've followed the link and did exactly what was said but it still doesn't work...

  8. #8
    fuggifuggi NNTP User

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    Sorry to hear that, maybe it's because I'm actually running Ubuntu and not OpenSuse.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Configuring Linphone to use VOiP

    It just said "Could not connect" after a while of connecting....

    I tried diferent numbers and the message was the same...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •