Activate Kernel Mode Setting

Hello there,

due to issues with the Intel graphics driver I eventually updated my system as the only way to really cope with the driver issues. I now use the 2.8 driver and a 2.6.29 kernel (that supports the 2.8 driver).

As you might know, in 2.8 UXA remains as the only acceleration mode, and from there it is only a small step toward kernel mode setting, which I’d love to give a try.

Here is where the problem arises though: for the life of me I can’t find any documentation of anyone having tried this with openSUSE.
Kernel mode setting has to be enabled at boot so that the i915 driver is loaded with the option “modeset=1”. Now since I’m not very experienced (I just spent a lot of time researching this in order to get my graphics fixed), I don’t know how that would work.
Through Google I found instructions for other distros:
-Debian-based: you add to /etc/modules

i915 modeset=1

-Fedora:

i915.modeset=1

must be set as one of the kernel command line arguments through GRUB on boot or modifying /boot/grub/grub.conf.

Now is this something distro-specific? Or is either way working? And which way is the best?

Btw, I use 11.1, the BuildService X11-Repo, and kernel 2.6.29.5-jen80 with an Intel 945 GM chipset.

Any advice is appreciated!

Let me maybe rephrase the question in an easier way.

If I were to add a certain parameter to my graphics driver at startup, how would I have to do that?

Thank you all for your help!

Due to the amazing response I’m used to receiving in this forum, I ended up just trying it out. (The reason I had not done that before was that I was afraid it would break something that I’d have to fix.) Just for documentational reasons I’m posting the outcome here.

Kernel Mode Setting, or Kernel-based Mode Setting, can be activated in openSUSE - if you have at least kernel 2.6.29 - by adding

i915.modeset=1

as a boot parameter to /boot/grub/menu.lst . A sample of where to add this might look like this: