Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Exclamation Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    "Timeout exceed" ... bla...bla...whatever. Get outa here.

    There might be different reasons for this message to pop up (such as a bad connection to the mirrors YaST2 automatically selects or a crappy internet connection).
    Anyway, here's the magic popup: How to increase the waiting time for timeout a nudge so that even in those cases updates/upgrades are possible?

    Friendly replys are appreciated.
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    I couldn't see a setting for this, I was looking in Yast - System - /etc/sysconfigEditor

    Maybe someone else knows.

    If you have connection problems with the repo urls' you have, consider using a mirror for problematic ones:
    openSUSE Download Mirrors - Overview
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Default Re: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    Thanks for replying that quickly. Great to have you here, caf4926.

    Somehow it doesn't seem to store the changed software repository as the metadata needs to be updated - and without a better connection it's a small nightmare.
    So...if someone else knows how to increase the timeout value in YaST2, please shout it out LOUD.
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    You might be barking up the wrong tree IMO. Personally I find the timeout on Yast too long. On the odd occasion that a mirror is unresponsive, you have to wait for what seems like ages until the timeout kicks in. Does my head in. It's always advisable to do Yast/Update work on a good connection too.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Default Re: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    Can't agree on that. I'd like to increase the timeout value from X to 60 seconds at minimum. I know, life is short, but hey, I'm not in a hurry here. Personal question: Did you sleep at all? hehehe...
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Increasing YaST2 timeout.

    Personal question: Did you sleep at all? hehehe...
    I had a few hours as usual.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •