Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43

Thread: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Quote Originally Posted by markcynt View Post
    Yes that's what I have.

    I was just wondering why TheMask had the 4.2.98 version but now I see that was an older post.

    Thanks
    No worries. Lakeland eh!
    Nice: My Fl. zip: 34652
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    No worries. Lakeland eh!
    Nice: My Fl. zip: 34652
    Yes not far from me at all. Nice up there.
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    I'm already on 4.3 at my main (home) machine but the work computer is still running Gnome. What's the best way to migrate from Gnome? Install 4.1 first from the OpenSUSE DVD or OSS repo and then upgrade as above? One-click install of 4.3? Enable the Factory repos for a fresh install?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    I have never used gnome in suse.
    I would do this.
    Add the kde4 Factory repo's I list (Check your priorities!!)

    Yast Software Management
    Patterns
    Check kde4-desktop, kde4-base
    See what happens here and work thru accordingly. I'm about for a couple of hours or so.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Thanks, but I'm at home now and won't be able to do it until back at work in the morning (see my location!). Will follow your suggestion and report back.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Some cruel twist of fate meant that I had to actually do some work yesterday so I only got round to it today. Got 4.1.3 at the first attempt as I forgot to change the priority of the Update repository, but a quick change to 99 and an unconditional update of the KDE package group did the trick. Now have a shiny new 4.3 desktop at work, and with the necessary tweaking of the desktop even more reason not to do any actual work!
    Thanks for your help, that was easier than expected.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Quote Originally Posted by gminnerup View Post
    Some cruel twist of fate meant that I had to actually do some work yesterday so I only got round to it today. Got 4.1.3 at the first attempt as I forgot to change the priority of the Update repository, but a quick change to 99 and an unconditional update of the KDE package group did the trick. Now have a shiny new 4.3 desktop at work, and with the necessary tweaking of the desktop even more reason not to do any actual work!
    Thanks for your help, that was easier than expected.
    Good to hear and thanks for letting us know how it went.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    All's not well though. I'm having regular freezes (everything stops except the mouse movement, and a hard reset is the only option) which I have now tracked down (I think) to 3d acceleration, as it seems to be okay when I disable the desktop effects. My video is Intel 915G, and I'll go off and try Xrender instead of OpenGL in a minute once I'm satisfied that everything else works with desktop effects disabled.
    Any suggestions gratefully received: change Intel video driver?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Can't enable Xrender effects, system insists on OpenGL.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE4.3.* Upgrade - HowTo

    Quote Originally Posted by gminnerup View Post
    Can't enable Xrender effects, system insists on OpenGL.
    I'm using OpenGL on my Intel
    Works brilliantly!
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •