Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Network connection from a live CD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Network connection from a live CD

    I can't make a network connection from a live CD. I'm behind a DLink EBR router and an ActionTek modem (with NAT), and I can only ping the localhost. Tried with both the openSUSE and SystemRescue CDs. Any suggestions for troubleshooting this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    It's not always possible because hardware drivers may have to be compiled against the kernel. I'm not familiar with the hardware you quote. If it's going to work, it usually will be. Have you tried clicking the networkmanager and setting up a new eth0 connection?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    It's not always possible because hardware drivers may have to be compiled against the kernel. I'm not familiar with the hardware you quote. If it's going to work, it usually will be. Have you tried clicking the networkmanager and setting up a new eth0 connection?
    I've tried ifconfig. I'll check the Network Manager and see if I have better luck with that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    The Network Manager does not even detect a device.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    You have a router, so what is the Action Tek device for - Normally you would plug direct to the router.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    ActionTek is the modem. It has a built-in router, but for some strange reason only one connection. The best way to go might be a wireless router, but I already have the D-Link, and the combination works well for other purposes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    I'm not familiar with this setup. I just plug a RJ45 directly in the router from my network card.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Network connection from a live CD

    I guess I'm not clear. The modem has router capabilities, but for whatever reason has only one port. Don't ask me why. This is connected to a D-Link LAN port, which in turn connects to my desktop and file server via LAN.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •