Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: screenie with gkrellm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default screenie with gkrellm

    Screen shot with gkrellm for ??? lost the thread now :-)

    http://yfrog.com/5psnapshot3laup


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    25,770
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise
    Screen shot with gkrellm for ??? lost the thread
    now :-)

    http://yfrog.com/5psnapshot3laup
    Hi
    One busy system.... If you add hddtemp it will add your hard disk
    temperatures, I also use gkrelltop and glx86info (one line compile with
    gcc) and copy to the plugins directory. Hmm maybe I need to make rpms
    for them...

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.23-0.1-default
    up 4 days 13:35, 2 users, load average: 0.22, 0.19, 0.31
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 185.18.14


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    where did you get the temperature plasmoid from? I've been looking for a while to replace the one I use but can't find anything I like

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    microchip8 adjusted his/her AFDB on Friday 17 Jul 2009 16:06 to write:

    >
    > where did you get the temperature plasmoid from? I've been looking for a
    > while to replace the one I use but can't find anything I like
    >
    >


    Not sure if I got it from the repos or from kde-look.org

    <<-snip->>

    System Monitor - Temperature
    Version 1.0
    Using KDE 4.2.96 (KDE 4.2.96 (KDE 4.3 RC2)) "release 142"

    >>-pins-<<



    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Malcolm adjusted his/her AFDB on Friday 17 Jul 2009 15:22 to write:

    >
    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise
    Screen shot with gkrellm for ??? lost the thread
    > now :-)
    >
    > http://yfrog.com/5psnapshot3laup
    >
    > Hi
    > One busy system.... If you add hddtemp it will add your hard disk
    > temperatures, I also use gkrelltop and glx86info (one line compile with
    > gcc) and copy to the plugins directory. Hmm maybe I need to make rpms
    > for them...
    >


    I have never had much luck with the hddtemp it never seems to report the
    right one, also at the moment this mobo is a hybrid, the board is an AM2+
    and is supposed to support the phenom X3 CPU but does not, even with the
    latest BIOS.

    I have been in communication with the Manufacturers for the last month
    trying to get it sorted ( Gigabyte who have been absolutely great but no
    luck, must admit it has been a breath of fresh air to deal with the support
    guys there, did not even bat an eye when I said that I had been doing the
    monitoring from linux ) with no luck so the reading are not 100% accurate.

    I have a brand new AM3 board here ready and waiting for this chip but I need
    new DDR3 mem and I cannot get hold of the ones I want till probably the end
    of next week*

    So have not got it all setup yet will wait for new toy when it is built.

    Then when the new toy is built I shall drop my old AMD64 X2 back in this one
    and use it for something else and save up for a Phenom X4 black edition for
    some serious tweaking and a fresh install of milestone 3 or later :-)


    *cash flow, going away for a few days and the real killer=SWMBO :-)


    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    25,770
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise
    Malcolm adjusted his/her AFDB on Friday 17 Jul 2009
    15:22 to write:

    >
    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise
    Screen shot with gkrellm for ??? lost the thread
    > now :-)
    >
    > http://yfrog.com/5psnapshot3laup
    >
    > Hi
    > One busy system.... If you add hddtemp it will add your hard disk
    > temperatures, I also use gkrelltop and glx86info (one line compile
    > with gcc) and copy to the plugins directory. Hmm maybe I need to make
    > rpms for them...
    >


    I have never had much luck with the hddtemp it never seems to report
    the right one, also at the moment this mobo is a hybrid, the board is
    an AM2+ and is supposed to support the phenom X3 CPU but does not, even
    with the latest BIOS.

    I have been in communication with the Manufacturers for the last month
    trying to get it sorted ( Gigabyte who have been absolutely great but
    no luck, must admit it has been a breath of fresh air to deal with the
    support guys there, did not even bat an eye when I said that I had
    been doing the monitoring from linux ) with no luck so the reading are
    not 100% accurate.

    I have a brand new AM3 board here ready and waiting for this chip but I
    need new DDR3 mem and I cannot get hold of the ones I want till
    probably the end of next week*

    So have not got it all setup yet will wait for new toy when it is built.

    Then when the new toy is built I shall drop my old AMD64 X2 back in
    this one and use it for something else and save up for a Phenom X4
    black edition for some serious tweaking and a fresh install of
    milestone 3 or later :-)


    *cash flow, going away for a few days and the real killer=SWMBO :-)
    Hi
    Have you edited the hddtemp /etc/sysconfig/hddtemp file? eg
    Code:
    # Put at least the disk(s) you want to monitor here.
    # default is /dev/sda
    DEVICE="/dev/sd[a-c]"
    I redid hddtemp beta and it's in my home repository as it defaults
    to /dev/sda

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.23-0.1-default
    up 4 days 15:02, 2 users, load average: 0.09, 0.34, 0.48
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 185.18.14


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Malcolm adjusted his/her AFDB on Friday 17 Jul 2009 16:47 to write:


    > *cash flow, going away for a few days and the real killer=SWMBO :-)
    > [/QUOTE]
    > Hi
    > Have you edited the hddtemp /etc/sysconfig/hddtemp file? eg
    >
    Code:
    > # Put at least the disk(s) you want to monitor here.
    > # default is /dev/sda
    > DEVICE="/dev/sd[a-c]"
    >
    > I redid hddtemp beta and it's in my home repository as it defaults
    > to /dev/sda
    >


    I will give it a go when I have the new machine setup as this board has only
    got 4 sata + 2 IDE ( nothing on the IDE ) but the new board has 6 SATA + 2E-
    SATA and so the config will be completely different.

    Not even sure how I will configure the drives yet, might leave them separate
    or might raid the ones I have laying around.

    :-)

    --
    Mark
    Caveat emptor
    Nullus in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    hmmm, so I'll have to wait until kde4.3 is released to get it as currently kde4.2.4 offers a ****ty looking one and I'm too lazy to upgrade to 4.3

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Quote Originally Posted by microchip8 View Post
    hmmm, so I'll have to wait until kde4.3 is released to get it as currently kde4.2.4 offers a ****ty looking one and I'm too lazy to upgrade to 4.3
    the temperature plasmoid changes with whatever plasma theme you use so it isn't your 4.2 it is just the theme your using that probably makes it ugly lol

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/belgium
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: screenie with gkrellm

    Quote Originally Posted by Havoc65 View Post
    the temperature plasmoid changes with whatever plasma theme you use so it isn't your 4.2 it is just the theme your using that probably makes it ugly lol
    Not here. I tried a bunch of different themes and it's always the same. I currently use Oxyglass so this is definitely kde4.2 related


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •