Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Cannot get through to localhost:631

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Cannot get through to localhost:631

    Hi
    I have a fresh openSUSE 11.1 Gnome 64 bit install. I've installed some drivers for a brother printer that works fine to date in all prior 32 bit openSUSE installs.
    I'm trying to get into the cups admin GUI on browser address
    HTML Code:
    http://localhost:631
    but I get only the Firefox error page as follows:
    Failed to Connect
    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost:631.
    Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.
    The firewall allows cups and I also have rcSuSEfirewall2 stopped.
    The cups daemon is running (sudo /usr/sbin/rccups status returns "running").

    What can be my problem.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    What do the following return?

    netstat -atn | grep 631
    host localhost
    grep localhost /etc/hosts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    Here they are:

    john@suse111g:~> netstat -atn | grep 631
    john@suse111g:~>
    john@suse111g:~> host localhost
    localhost has address 127.0.0.1
    Host localhost not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
    Host localhost not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
    john@suse111g:~> grep localhost /etc/hosts
    ::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback
    john@suse111g:~>
    Thanks
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    Cups is not listening on port 631.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,391
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    Do you have the following entry in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf?

    # Only listen for connections from the local machine.
    Listen localhost:631

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    I've got this:
    Code:
    # Only listen for connections from the local machine.
    Listen localhost:631
    Listen /var/run/cups/cups.sock
    Last edited by swerdna; 20-May-2010 at 00:08.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,391
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    I get this

    grep localhost /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback
    and in my /etc/hosts config I have

    # IP-Address Full-Qualified-Hostname Short-Hostname
    #

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    # special IPv6 addresses
    ::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback

    fe00::0 ipv6-localnet

    ff00::0 ipv6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ipv6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ipv6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ipv6-allhosts
    127.0.0.2 linux.site linux
    Is your localhost entry missing or commented out by any chance?

    PS: At the limit of my knowledge here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,157

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    It looks as if
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    is missing from your /etc/hosts.

    and
    Code:
    boven:~ # netstat -atnp | grep 631
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:631             0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      3624/cupsd
    boven:~ #
    should be like this.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    Thasnks guys.
    I found this line in /etc/hosts:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1   nil
    so I edited it to this:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1   localhost
    And I rebooted. Then I looked at /etc/hosts again and it had reverted to this:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1     nil
    Any clues?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,391
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cannot get through to localhost:631

    It is similar to this recent thread. Not sure what the cause would be - Its new to me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •