Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: kwin and the cube

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default kwin and the cube

    When dragging a window from 1 desktop to another, I am limited to going from Desktop 1 to Desktop 2. It doesn't matter in which direction I drag a window. The same is true for Desktop 3 and 4.

    From saying this, its obvious that I have 4 virtual desktops enabled. Also, if I drag a window to the left, the cube rotates. Continuing on to get to the next window rotates the window in the opposite direction, getting me back where I started.

    Can't seem to find a cure for this. Anybody else seeing it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    On Tue, 2009-07-07 at 20:56 +0000, Prexy wrote:
    > When dragging a window from 1 desktop to another, I am limited to going
    > from Desktop 1 to Desktop 2. It doesn't matter in which direction I
    > drag a window. The same is true for Desktop 3 and 4.
    >
    > From saying this, its obvious that I have 4 virtual desktops enabled.
    > Also, if I drag a window to the left, the cube rotates. Continuing on
    > to get to the next window rotates the window in the opposite direction,
    > getting me back where I started.
    >
    > Can't seem to find a cure for this. Anybody else seeing it?


    I'm assuming you're using KDE4's compositing stuff.. right? Just me,
    but I found the KDE4 composite stuff so frustrating that I went back to
    compiz + KDE4. No issues dragging across faces with compiz. I'm using
    KDE 4.2.4 and compiz 0.8.2 (in other words, not very bleeding edge).

    So, just in case there isn't a resolution immediately for KDE composite,
    compiz might be a suitable alternative (??).




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    Quote Originally Posted by Prexy View Post
    When dragging a window from 1 desktop to another, I am limited to going from Desktop 1 to Desktop 2. It doesn't matter in which direction I drag a window. The same is true for Desktop 3 and 4.

    From saying this, its obvious that I have 4 virtual desktops enabled. Also, if I drag a window to the left, the cube rotates. Continuing on to get to the next window rotates the window in the opposite direction, getting me back where I started.

    Can't seem to find a cure for this. Anybody else seeing it?
    hmmm seems very odd to me cause i just set kwin to enable window dragging to another desktop and i can go from desktop1 to desktop3 without any problems

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    I was a pretty avid follower of compiz right through to compiz fusion. I suffered through all the growing pains. When kwin began to have nice eye candy, I stuck with it. Maybe its time to go back.

    @Havoc65 if it isn't too much trouble, could you walk me through the settings? I thought I had them all right with no conflicts.

    I also neglected to mention that I am using an old nvidia card with the legacy driver. I can't see why that would make a difference, but I thought I'd mention it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    On Fri, 2009-07-10 at 18:56 +0000, Prexy wrote:
    > I was a pretty avid follower of compiz right through to compiz fusion.
    > I suffered through all the growing pains. When kwin began to have nice
    > eye candy, I stuck with it. Maybe its time to go back.
    >
    > @Havoc65 if it isn't too much trouble, could you walk me through the
    > settings? I thought I had them all right with no conflicts.
    >
    > I also neglected to mention that I am using an old nvidia card with the
    > legacy driver. I can't see why that would make a difference, but I
    > thought I'd mention it.


    Actually, that can make a HUGE difference. There are definitely issues
    with certain Nvdia drivers and KDE4 that require new drivers and I'm not
    sure about the legacy driver support with regards to those changes.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    Quote Originally Posted by Prexy View Post
    I was a pretty avid follower of compiz right through to compiz fusion. I suffered through all the growing pains. When kwin began to have nice eye candy, I stuck with it. Maybe its time to go back.

    @Havoc65 if it isn't too much trouble, could you walk me through the settings? I thought I had them all right with no conflicts.

    I also neglected to mention that I am using an old nvidia card with the legacy driver. I can't see why that would make a difference, but I thought I'd mention it.
    first what version of kde4 are you running?
    i'm running the the kde4.3 rc2 i believe
    i go into system settings, desktop, screen edges at the bottom theres switch desktop on edge the option i have there is only when moving windows
    now on desktop effects general tab effect for desktop switching i have desktop cube animation
    then desktop cube in all effects advanced tab i have a check in use this effect for walking through desktops

    if that don't help let me know

  7. #7

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    When dragging, desktop #3 is below #1 and #4 below #2. You need to drag down even with the cube animation.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    Quote Originally Posted by escaner View Post
    When dragging, desktop #3 is below #1 and #4 below #2. You need to drag down even with the cube animation.
    Now, THIS is interesting. I would never have guessed this and it works!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    Quote Originally Posted by Havoc65 View Post
    first what version of kde4 are you running?
    i'm running the the kde4.3 rc2 i believe
    i go into system settings, desktop, screen edges at the bottom theres switch desktop on edge the option i have there is only when moving windows
    now on desktop effects general tab effect for desktop switching i have desktop cube animation
    then desktop cube in all effects advanced tab i have a check in use this effect for walking through desktops

    if that don't help let me know
    I'm running kde 4.2.4 release 2 and the nvidia driver is the 173.x.x one. My settings weren't exactly where you said, probably due to the "older" version of kde. But I did find all the settings. I had it set up just like you said and the problem was still there.

    But now, I can look and see which desktop I'm on from the indicator in the panel and go up/down or sideways to get where I want. A little quirky, but it gets me there.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: kwin and the cube

    One more question: how do you change the picture on the top and bottom of the cube in kwin? I used to do it in compiz-fusion.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •