Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do I install KDE desktop?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    114

    Default How do I install KDE desktop?

    Been using OpenSuse 11.1 with Gnome and it's been rock solid and and most software installs and updates are a breeze. I'm really looking forward to 11.2. I promote this OS shamelessly and with a great deal of enthusiasm. Here's my query. I didn't want KDE when first set up this machine for many reasons but I'd like to try KDE now. How do I get it and make the installation and what if any problems might it entail. Checked out the one click install and things got a little confusing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    114

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Okay. Added repositories and performed updates. All appearances are that KDE is installed. I just can't figure out how to use it. No options at boot time and no way to start it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by difficilus View Post
    Okay. Added repositories and performed updates. All appearances are that KDE is installed. I just can't figure out how to use it. No options at boot time and no way to start it.
    okay open up yast2 and change the drop down from search to patterns and see if there is a check mark in kde4 environment and kde4 base if not put a check in them
    also change the priority of them repos you added to something lower than 99 and update again when finished log out click on sessions choose kde4.3

  5. #5
    Balouch NNTP User

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by difficilus View Post
    Okay. Added repositories and performed updates. All appearances are that KDE is installed. I just can't figure out how to use it. No options at boot time and no way to start it.
    when you selected your username in login screen, you will be able to select KDE in bottom of page from drop down menu, just change the Gnome to KDE & yo will be redirected to KDE & enjoy the great features of this lovely Desktop :-)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,704
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Some Gnome users report this problem with gdm login screen. You can use kdm instead. You can set this (for the next time desktop starts) via /etc/sysconfig editor in yast. IIRC look for display manager setting. Make the required changes, then retstart X with CTRL-ALT-Backspace.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    114

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Woo...hoo! Thank you. It seems as though you were all correct. Performed the updates, changed the cofig, and then selected the session. I'm still looking around and stability is unknown but the appearance is awesome. So is this community. I'd like to think at some point in the future I can help another Linux user in some way. Thanks again!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: How do I install KDE desktop?

    Glade to hear we all could help and it worked out for you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •