Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I broke GNOME

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default I broke GNOME

    Hi Guys,

    I'm using GNOME now at the office. Could not take windows anymore and since i liked KDE so much in opensuse, I decided to try GNOME especially, since I don't have the same system resources to work with. Much less.

    I have a problem with my GNOME. I updated to GNOME 2.26 but midway installation something happened. I don't know what, but I had to hard restart. I tried to continue the update but my desktop would not load unless i'm in failsafe. So I continued it there but still no joy when i try the normal boot.

    Any pointers? CAn anyone show me where to look at the Logs
    Opensuse 11.3 KDE 4.4.4, Windows XP. Vostro 1500 with 2.0Ghz Core2Duo and 8400M GS and DELL wireless 1390 Card
    Office: PCLinuxOS KDE 4.3.5 Whitebox, 2GB RAM, 2.8GHz Pentium 4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,830
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    Boot to level 3
    login as user then go su

    start yast with: yast

    In this basic interface, get to filter by repo, select the 'System' (that's all your installed packages)
    From Packages menu, do 'Update all in this list Unconditionally'

    It will be quite a size. Wait...........

    reboot
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    Thanks.

    I still have a GUI. Just in failsafe. The other doesn't work. Where should I boot in run level 3? Failsafe or normal
    Opensuse 11.3 KDE 4.4.4, Windows XP. Vostro 1500 with 2.0Ghz Core2Duo and 8400M GS and DELL wireless 1390 Card
    Office: PCLinuxOS KDE 4.3.5 Whitebox, 2GB RAM, 2.8GHz Pentium 4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,830
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    Do it from failsafe then.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,912
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    In the bootmenu, at the options line type: init 3
    This will boot in runlevel 3, no graphics
    At login: login with username and password.
    type: su -c yast
    choose software installer and perform actions Caf described.

    Reboot and things should be OK.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    Thanks for the info guys, I have to wait 6 hours. WOW. Did I do that right?
    Opensuse 11.3 KDE 4.4.4, Windows XP. Vostro 1500 with 2.0Ghz Core2Duo and 8400M GS and DELL wireless 1390 Card
    Office: PCLinuxOS KDE 4.3.5 Whitebox, 2GB RAM, 2.8GHz Pentium 4

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,830
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    You mean 6hrs for the download?
    It will be quite big (several GB) and the time it takes will depend on your Internet speed.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: I broke GNOME

    Well thanks. I just have to come back tomorrow and see how it ran over night. The FTP servers where the files seem slow
    Opensuse 11.3 KDE 4.4.4, Windows XP. Vostro 1500 with 2.0Ghz Core2Duo and 8400M GS and DELL wireless 1390 Card
    Office: PCLinuxOS KDE 4.3.5 Whitebox, 2GB RAM, 2.8GHz Pentium 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •