Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KDE + GNOME

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    26

    Default KDE + GNOME

    Hello,
    is it possible to have both KDE4 and Gnome installed on the same computer? Or does "things" get ************ up?

    Thomas

  2. #2
    natural_pilot NNTP User

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    thsundel wrote:
    > does "things" get ************ up?


    yes it is possible..
    personally i prefer to add a new user for gnome, that way the settings
    for kde and gnome won't fight when you move from one to the other..

    BUT, lots of folks seem to have no problem at all with that...and,
    install some or all of Gnome, KDE3, KDE4, Xfce, and there ARE several
    others....

    now, i wonder if it is possible for you to put a lid on the smut-mouth
    here?

    --
    .~.
    /V\
    /( )\ natural_pilot
    ^^-^^

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    This can be found on these forums a zillion times. Install both and on the login screen you can decide which one to use today.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    Quote Originally Posted by natural_pilot View Post
    thsundel wrote:
    > does "things" get ************ up?


    yes it is possible..
    personally i prefer to add a new user for gnome, that way the settings
    for kde and gnome won't fight when you move from one to the other..
    That's a very good point!!

    Quote Originally Posted by natural_pilot View Post
    now, i wonder if it is possible for you to put a lid on the smut-mouth
    here?

    --
    .~.
    /V\
    /( )\ natural_pilot
    ^^-^^
    Will do

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    I have the following ... Windows XP and Vista and OpenSuse Fedora 10 ... on OpenSuse have KDE 3, 4.2, and 4.3 and Gnome all installed and using the same user ... and have no problems ... no fighting over 4.2 and 4.3 and no Gnome fighting with KDE ... so long as I use the OpenSuse repos ... when using KDE repos yes I have problems ... just use the OpenSuse repos when updating and have no issues ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    Nice, thanks for letting me know!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    423

    Default Re: KDE + GNOME

    Hey Thomas,

    This might be of some help to you: Installing both Gnome and KDE.

    That should help you install both Gnome and KDE on your system and switch between them.

    Hope that helps!

    Folding@Home
    Help save lives with Folding@Home

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •