Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm a photographer

chrisj1968 NNTP User

Default I'm a photographer

I'm a photographer and am looking for an application to do what I can in Photoshop. perhaps add a repository to my yast software to install it or whatever. I haven't used opensuse in ages and it seems very improved

any help would be great

BTW, my external HDD is in NTFS and dolphin rocks!

Default Re: I'm a photographer

Do you know about GIMP? If not try it. you do not need to add any repo for that, just install from Yast if it is not already installed...

You can run Photoshop in wine if you want follow the link in my signature

/Geoff
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

Photo and design studio here. After playing with gimp a few weeks I have no idea what gimp does. Photoshop user since PS3 on mac, linux for e-mail. Stay with Photoshop, yes pricy, but in the biz PS makes the images magic.

Why don't you use GNU Image Manipulation Program. It's a great tools to edit your image. Or you ca install photoshop via wine. Install wine from yast, and then install your photoshop.
    OpenSUSE 11.1 with GNOME 2.4 desktop
    Intel Pentium 4 1.8 GHz
    RAM 512 MB
    nVidia RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro 32 MB

Gimp is quite limited for photographers, e.g. no 16-Bit per channel capability.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by steve09224 View Post
    Gimp is quite limited for photographers, e.g. no 16-Bit per channel capability.
    The original post was back in June 2009. Why resurrect this dead thread now? A pet peeve perhaps?

I use gimp. I'm not a photographer, and I do not need 16-bit per channel capability.

I do recall there are plans to add 16-bit to Gimp (with my having read something back in Feb 2009), but I do not know the current status ...

I note this from a graphic site:
    GIMP Deep Color: patch for 16-bit support of PNG | The Artist's Guide to GIMP Effects