Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VMWare workstation 6 problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    34 04 17.35S 18 50 02.23E
    Posts
    266

    Default VMWare workstation 6 problem

    I have just upgraded kernel and kernel-source to Linux 2.6.25.20-0.4-default x86_64 from opensuse updates (using opensuse 11.0) and I cannot get vmware to run after running vmware-config.pl

    It seems like the vmware-config.pl only goes 75% of the way, and then ends.

    Has anyone else had this problem?
    openSUSE Leap + KDE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vsters, Sweden ex. Highbury London UK
    Posts
    1,245

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    You have to reinstall vmware after a kernel upgrade
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    34 04 17.35S 18 50 02.23E
    Posts
    266

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    In the past, I have only run vmware-config.pl after the upgrade and it has always worked.

    However, I'll try it your way
    openSUSE Leap + KDE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vsters, Sweden ex. Highbury London UK
    Posts
    1,245

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    You could also try this as su
    mv /usr/lib/vmware/modules/binary /usr/lib/vmware/modules/binary.old

    then run as su "vmware" and it will recompile
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,587
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    Can you copy and paste the output of vmware-config.pl, i.e. the part where it's going wrong?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    34 04 17.35S 18 50 02.23E
    Posts
    266

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    Well I got the problem solved - and it was due to me not knowing how to handle the command line screen. I should have typed Q to get a less screen. This is something I will study and practice.
    So when I ran vmware-config.pl, It went into a network setup subroutine - and I didn't realise that I had to jump out of it to the less screen. Thank goodness for the boffins!
    Previously, this did not happen when the kernel was upgraded.

    The nice thing is that even though I uninstalled vmware and then put it back - all my previous setup was still intact - good ol' linux
    openSUSE Leap + KDE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vsters, Sweden ex. Highbury London UK
    Posts
    1,245

    Default Re: VMWare workstation 6 problem

    Well that should have occurred to had to do it in the past
    Glad you got it sorted
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •